We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not for lunch.”
Review of Northfield Cafe

Northfield Cafe
Ranked #100 of 732 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Nepali, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not for lunch.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have eaten here in the past, and the garden retaurant is atmospheric. However we had lunch this time, and the menu was limited, and all four of us thought our meals were disappointing.
Still a nice place to be, but would not return, there are lots of other places to try , and most visitors to kathmandu only stay for a couple of nights before and after trekking .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    156
    84
    44
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere compare to other restaurants in Thamel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, very good food, good music and nice staff, bit pricey though. I dont understand why it ranks so low on tripadvisor. I would rate it as the best in Thamel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arunthia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Food just below average...otherwise great”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Considering your options in Thamel, this cafe is like all others; make shift menu featuring at least 3 cuisines, an atmosphere designed to make people feel more at home and all the luxuries you'd expect. However the breakfast was mediocre at best, and the service couldn't be more pretentious if it tried. Try it out once you've tried all the other highly rated establishments in Thamel, or if you're just in its neighborhood.

Helpful?
Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
601 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Enchiladas in the middle of Nepal”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This restaurant in Thamel has nice seating and a unique menu that includes some tasty enchiladas. There was live entertainment that added to the atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican restaurant, nice courtyard, good fireplace and live music”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Very good food, we enjoyed our food a lot. I mostly had quesadilla. We visited here 5 times. Food was good apart from our last visit. I guess it was late and we were last few customers. We didn't like the food that night and got little heavy and felt sick.
Apart from that night, food was good and we were amazed by the good taste at our first visits.
The price is almost high. The bill will be heavy after added tax and service charge. It somehow worth it as it is a good place.
The manager is little arrogant. He was playing with the fire and end up throwing some hot coal towards me. I didn't recognize till it was late; my sherpa pants (30$) and under armor baselayer (60$) got big holes. He didn't apologize and just laughed. I wasn't in a situation to argue and complain as had few drinks and didn't want to ruin the night. Anyway got sick at next visit.
However, I think it's a good restaurant. Hope you don't end up with similar bad experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kasra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northfield Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Northfield Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing