We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reflection of Nepali Culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #23 of 715 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reflection of Nepali Culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is so amazing and so quite , The structure of the hotel reflects the nepali culture and architecture... though i just went to the resturant where the food was amazing , would love o stay here sometime .............

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarun_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    63
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“9 course menu!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went for the 9-course vegetarian menu. Although i had booked this in advance, our personalised menus showed a 6-course menu - it was quote annoying trying to sort this out. The staff could also not understand that my husband did not like mushrooms! We were quite full by the time the mains came - the mains were not so great, we had better dal bhaat on the mountains. This restaurant is very very expensive. Although we enjoyed it, i dont think we would go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AKothary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Tip #1: Leave Kathmandu as fast as possible! It is congested, lound, dirty, and, in December, blanketed with smog.

If you have to spend a night in Kathmandu, Dwarika's is a welcome respite from the world outside. Located on a fairly busy street, walking into the hotel is a breath of peace and fresh air. The hotel itself is this amazing compound of traditional brick architecture. You can literally spend over an hour just walking around and admiring the work that Mr. Dwarika did over the course of many years to rennovate the coumpound and create a five star hotel.

Room was spacious and well-appointed with traditional touches like a massive antique wood framed couch. We had both a very nice shower and a bath tub as well as a dual sink vanity. The king bed was very comfortable and the hot water bottles placed on both sides by the turndown service were a very nice touch.

Kathmandu gets a bit chilly in the winter, so pack a good coat. The hotel obviously has modern heaters in the rooms, but they have wonderful fireplaces in the hotel propper and in the well-stocked bar, which are really nice to sit by at night.

We ate at the Nepali restaurant which features traditional low tables where you sit on a cushion and cross your legs - something not all Western joints may appreciate, but which we didn't mind. The food was excellent - they offer 6, 9, or 12, course meals which are creative and tasty. The breakfast buffet is good with a decent fruit selection, fresh juices, savory foods (including yak cheese) and eggs made to order.

The hotel also offers complimentary yoga classes in the morning, which are taught by an associate professor of philosophy at Sanskrit University. Western yoga practitioners looking for their standard vinyasa or flow yoga will not find it here, but if you just go with it you'll at least get a good morning stretch.

This is a pricy place, but it is a very good option in Kathmandu, and I would definitely try to stay there if I ever faced another overnight in Kathmandu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 451MSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went thee on a Friday evening for their BBQ dinner. Food was very good and varied. There was a nice show too and the ambience is delightful

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakopane, Nowy Sacz, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hotel's sum up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Following the comments on the site we have searched for nice and recommended place to stay. We have stayed before in middle class hotels, but after all it is better to spend some more money to be sure you will be satisfied in all aspects of hotel stay: wonderful food, perfect service and feeling of home, which you desire some time during the trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryszard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dwarika's Hotel also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing