We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Kathmandu”

Dechenling Beer House
Ranked #52 of 715 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I am vegetarian but my husband eats meat. In places where we're trying new food this can force us to order a million things from the menu because neither of us wants to miss something. At Dechenling we only ordered momos, palak paneer, buff curry, and a couple of kinds of bread - but EVERYTHING was delicious. I thought I'd had great food in other restaurants but this place was hands down the most delicious meal we had. If you can only order a couple of things then try the palak paneer (with mushrooms in it) and the vegetarian momos. The ambiance however is really the best part. The outdoor garden is complete with individual fire pits for each table, hanging lanterns, and wonderful service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floridaangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at this restaurant very much. The atmosphere is very nice and the food is absolutely delicious. We had a variety of dishes and each and everyone was good. We loved to sit in the garden and have some Nepalese beer. A very nice restaurant!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuP2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“ALWAYS OPEN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

In the western world, being open for business is not a very high bar to clear. But, in a country with week-long holidays and country-wide protests that force businesses of all types to close, being open for business can be a real achievement.

My wife and I first visited the Dechenling Garden Restaurant during the Nepali high holidays (Dashain) in October of 2012. On a fine October day, we set out on a long walk to enjoy the Dashain becalmed streets of Kathmandu. We had expected to follow our walk with lunch at one of the many hotels near our home. However, when we tried to make good on this plan, we were confronted with closed doors, long waits and limited menus. One hotel restaurant sported a reduced, hand-written menu with only fried eggs and cheese or tuna sandwiches. All but defeated, we charted a course for home. In a final attempt at a decent lunch out, we started down the side street where Dechenling lives. The doors to the garden were open. “Are they open?” I asked no one in particular. “Are you open?” “Of course”, the waiter replied. “We’re always open”.

And so, over the past year, Dechenling has proven that bold claim from a year ago. When protests (bandhs) shut the city down, we headed to Dechenling for lunch. 2013’s Dashain holidays were no different. When most of the rest of the city was closed, Dechenling welcomed us to its tranquil garden on Mahasthami (12th October).

Dechenling really is a lovely place. The gardens are well-kept and the staff dedicated to their duties. The menu includes Tibetan, Bhutanese, Nepali and Chinese fare. The food is delicious. On this lovely October day, we arrived a little after noon and settled into a table under a garden ramada. As we perused the menu we heard the gurgling of the Ganesh fountain near the garden’s entrance, birds twittering and the distant sound of pots clinking in the kitchen. On this day, we ordered the Bhutanese set meal. Bhutanese food has the reputation of being spicy. We like that.

After a short wait, the food began to arrive. The set meals arrive piece by piece. Soup. Rice. Meat. Vegetables. One is usually enough for both of us. I can’t imagine eating one of Dechenling’s set meals by myself. As usual, the food was fresh, steaming and appetizing.

The Dechenling Garden Restaurant is, without question, the best in its class in Kathmandu. In a place where just opening the doors every day can be a challenge, Dechenling not only meets that challenge but delivers solid service and consistently great food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Try the Hot Pot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We loved the hot pot and the momos. Our daughter had been traveling with a group of friends and we met up with them here. There were 14 in their group, 7 in ours and we all left happy! The outdoor seating is lovely, food was excellent and the service was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlmace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“For Bhutanese cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The only place in Kathmandu where I've had decent Bhutanese cuisine. Although located in Thamel, they are located in a peaceful and secluded place. Outdoor seating is great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gurung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dechenling Beer House also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Dechenling Beer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing