We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical travelers lodge”
Review of Hotel Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountain
Ranked #171 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Noida, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Typical travelers lodge”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hotel Mountain can be termed as refurbished lodge in the garb of Hotel. It's conveniently located in prime area and all shopping and few good attractions within Walking distance. My visit was part of a marriage function which I attended in much better property next door (Hotel Annapurna) however the complete stay arrangement was done at Mountain.
If you've visiting with family and kids this is not a recommended property.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a cheap travelers lodge it's worth staying. Lesser your expectations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashoksuyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    14
    15
    6
See reviews for
4
7
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed there for three nights.Not the best of places to stay in.The bathroom was dirty and filled with old and rusty tiles.The beds were not comfortable and breakfast was not up to the standard.Dinner was average.The hotel staffs are helpful on the positive side

Overall it is a very outdated hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend you to stay on the third floor.The bathroom in those rooms are fairly better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tashfiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in Hotel Mountain as all other hotels were booked out. This was also booked heavily. I do not expect a lot in Kathmandu, but cleanliness is one thing I do!. The hotel was filthy. The walls are dirty everywhere, the bed sheets were covered with stains. The towels were so thin they were see thru but they looked grey and dirty as well. The place needs a complete overhaul if it wants to charge the price we paid. Only plus was the breakfast and the position. Two minutes walk from Thamel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Makes it easier to get rid of the musty smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy12045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We didn't have high hopes of this hotel after reading most of the previous reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed at Hotel Mountain for 4 nights - 2 before and 2 after our trek, and found it to be a very comfortable and convenient base.

The staff were pleasant and efficient, the breakfast was quite reasonable, and the rooms were more than adequate. The bathroom was a bit tired and dated, but always clean, and there was always piping hot water for a bath or shower.

The beds were comfortable and we had a small balcony to sit out on, although don't expect a view of much in the heart of Kathmandu!

The location was excellent; just a few minutes walking distance from the many shops in the Thamel area and also places like Durbar Square etc.

I would be perfectly happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

For a budget travellor, you may consider.But overall the room need to be done again. Bathroom are in bad shap. Eating place is just average. unless budget constrains do not stay. Although the location of the property is very good, just behind the Famous Annapurna Hotel.

Room Tip: Unless constrained on budgets, do not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lari15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I stayed here in November 2010 while on a business trip. The hotel is a run down place and needs severe upgrades. The room was full of mosquitoes and bathroom was filthy. The bed was soft as sponge in which you will sink in but wake up with a back ache next morning. I moved out the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMM020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here two nights in May of 2010 and the hotel is very dirty, if not gross. As mentioned by other reviewers, it is in a decent spot... but not good enough that I would ever consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 67SS_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Yellow Pagoda Hotel
Yellow Pagoda Hotel
#138 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#81 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#98 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Singi Hotel
Royal Singi Hotel
#97 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain

Property: Hotel Mountain
Address: Kantipath, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing