We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live Sufi music”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TAMAS

TAMAS
Ranked #381 of 717 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kathamandu
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Live Sufi music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

It is famous for its live sufi music by well known artist Pritam.
The ambience is good. Sitting in open terrace is enjoyable.
Food quality was good initially but now a days it's is only average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshnaxal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“not met our expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

our friends recommend this place but couldn't met our expectation.Due to New year Eve there was huge crowd and the service was not good.overall we loved the food (Tamas special Biryani) they served us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jliets w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'lore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“classy lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

tamas located in Thamel is one of the few classy lounge that exist in Kathmandu

the food is decent, the drinks excellent and ambiance fantastic. all the people come dressed up for some pre-party drinks before heading to the discs..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KCezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaboatao dos Guararapes, PE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too crowded and insuficcient security guards.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

They play good music and some rooms are beautiful and comfortable but the bathrooms were dirty and it was too crowded and in insuficcient security guards.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tamas- Get Together”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We almost like 20-25 friend went at Tamas after our final exam of MBA and had a grand get together which was a most memorable evening of ours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ghostlybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAMAS also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to TAMAS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing