We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome restaurant in the heart of Thamel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OR2K

OR2K
Ranked #11 of 703 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean, European, Asian, Middle Eastern, Nepali, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant in the heart of Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

During my two week stay in Kathmandu, I kept coming back obsessively to Or2k. It's a great restaurant: the ambiance, the staff and especially the food make it one of the best culinary experiences I've had in Nepal (second only to the home-made Dal Bhaat I had at my friend's place).

I recommend the shakshuka (~300 rupees) for breakfast and the Or2k platter (~550 rupees) for dinner. Wifi is available and the connection was faster than in other restaurants. I wholeheartedly recommend the Or2k restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arcticblackkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    429
    149
    36
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hard not to eat here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great food and service in Thamel. Have eaten there the last 3 nights and will probably be back tonight :)
Not the cheapest in town, but very goof food, well presented and tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Only one word of warning - the servings are massive! We dined here on Tuesday 22 April. Our party consisted of 4 adults, 2 teenagers and 4 children (10yrs old). We order 4 'starter' dishes and a main meal each. It was WAY TOO MUCH food.

But the quality and atmosphere is fantastic. Loved the mint drink, the spinach pie, the bread and dips. My son ordered the pasta alfredo - this had a little too much oil for my liking (shouldn't see any oil). My daughter had a margherita pizza and gave this the thumbs up.

Can't speak for the quality of the desserts as we had too much food leftover and so, did not have any appetite left!

Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CassHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, null, Nepal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very well known place in the core of tamel where we enjoyed good taste of foods. All the recipes we eat was FANTASTIC, the one thing if you are going there is be early otherwise you might not get seats to enjoy you recipes properly. As the sun comes down than this place crowd went up.
Highly recommended !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
269 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Busy place ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I liked its lively atmosphere, sitting on the ground, music from big loudspeakers and people around.
Ordered Humus - good, espresso - good.
Would return back here next time in KTM.

Helpful?
Thank TomasF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OR2K also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to OR2K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing