We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal!”
Review of OR2K

OR2K
Ranked #12 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate here on our last night in Kathmandu and it was excellent. We both wanted a traditional Nepalise meal for our last night so we had the Dal Baht - but everything else on the menu looked so wonderful as well. We also had the apple pie (since we had this many other places along our trek and it was fun to see how different everyone's applie pie was!) - oh and we had the OR2K salad here which was EXCELLENT - SOOOO good - the goat cheese and the salad dressing they used were excellent! This place was recommended to us from another couple we met trekking. My only complaint with the place was that people could smoke inside - so we did not like cig smoke around us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,037
    465
    154
    44
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a feed and relax”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

best coffee in Thamel, consistently good food and great atmosphere in the evenings. We have been there about 10 times now..Great Falafal wrap

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Food was okay, but nothing amazing.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I know, I know...blasphemy, you say. As you can see on here, OR2K is an insanely popular and pretty funky cafe. The menu offers some of the biggest variety I ever found in my six weeks in KTM, but nothing I tried ever blew me away. Pasta, shakshuka, pizza, bagels, pancakes, coffee...over the course of 4 or 5 visits I was always left thinking I was paying too much for food that was just too bland. I liked the hippie-esqe theme of the place, and sitting on pillows on the floor just adds to the vintage Freak Street feel. Still, nice a place as it is to spend a morning typing away on a MacBook with java in hand (as everyone seems to be doing each morning), there's far better food for half the price in this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantabulous”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

i have been there many times...I like the atmosphere ...great staff...great food...I really enjoy the music selection of there...falafel is just amazing...i like the vibes....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathmandu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE best restaurant in Kathmandu”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Amazing Israeli, greek, lebanese food. ive been there like 20 times and everything ive ordered has been great.. the place is great to chill at. floor seating with cushions.. the mint lemonade is out of the world.. and so is the hummus, shakshuka, falafel and the pancakes..i love this place

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joonsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OR2K also viewed

 
Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to OR2K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing