We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$120
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gokarna Forest Resort(Kathmandu)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$62
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$105
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$31
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trekkers' Home(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
313
30
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
30
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housekathmandu valleyshivapuri national parkother gueststhe hustle and bustlejasmine houselocal monasteryowners steverelaxing daysperfect escapewelcoming hostsshort driveveg currylocal guidesurrounding hillshot water bottleshome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 346 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Shivapuri Heights Cottages is excellent value for money. It's just a short drive out of Kathmandu (40 min), but feels as if you've left the hectic and grittiness of the city far behind. The premises is perched on a hillside abutting Shivapuri forest. The grounds are not expansive, but are very well groomed and taken care of. There are two outstanding points of staying in the cottages: the food, which was a mix of Nepali and western cuisine (our choice) is served smorgasbord style, and was scrumptious. Second is the setting. The view was terrific, and the location is tranquil and the rooms cozy. So it's great for relaxing with a book, or taking a short hike or just catching up on sleep. Wireless is available if you need to get some work done. There's a good collection of reading materials. Next time we'd like a weekend escape, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicullom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Everything about this place was first rate - from the superb facilities to the excellent food. The communal atmosphere for the place was, for me, the highlight. It seemed far more like staying with a group of friends that a group of otherwise unconnected travelers. Plus, the dogs are really friendly.

After a month and a half in Nepal, this was by far the best night's sleep I've had! Highly recommended to the nth degree.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I arrived at SP Heights after a long day of walking. I was recommended to come here by a friend, and it certainly lived up to expectations; in fact, it excelled beyond them.
I arrived feeling very tired and achy after spending the whole day walking, so it was very satisfactory for me to feel completely fine again less than 1 hour after arriving. The atmosphere is very congenial, although me and my friend still very much had our own space to relax.
The most memorable aspect of my trip to SP Heights was the friendliness of the staff and owners. We were invited for drinks and dinner and so my overnight stay there felt more like a gathering of family and friends rather than a hotel stay.
The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. There are plenty of furnishings to make you feel comfortable and welcome.
In short, given the fee I paid to stay there, I would strongly recommend a stay at Shivapuri Heights Cottage. It is very pleasant and the location is fantastic, with good, quick transport links into central Kathmandu.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The cottage was a great place to relax and escape from Kathmandu before heading out on a remote trek. Would have also been a wonderful place to return to for a relaxing recovery. Steve was a wonderful host and all of the staff were very friendly and provided a great informal environment to match the location. The scenery and fresh air was great and particularly appreciated at night with it being easier to forget just how close to Kathmandu the cottage is. A wonderfully laid back setup with options to do as little or as much activity as you like. Guided walks were great as was just catching up with a good book and enjoying the fresh air and views. Rooms and amenities were very clean and comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, there is no lacking in quantity of quality of food. The Nepali curries were particularly good in my opinion with the western food being top notch also. All in all the cottage offered a very flexible experience with Steve and the team ensuring that guests got what they wanted out of there time at the cottage. He also did a great job of playing host to a variety of guests. Would love to go back if I am again in Nepal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdurx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I went in a group of two couples and we were joined by various of the owners family and friends and the adjoining cottage homed a family for the weekend. A place to feel at home - tea and coffee and water on demand, an honesty bar and way too much food for three meals a day!
We were keen to do some yoga, which the owners sorted for us and we did our poses on the grass lawn. Also went for a walk up into Shivapuri National Park.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews