We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$140
$123
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
$159
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$121
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$108
$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$22
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$285
$240
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
319
30
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
30
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housekathmandu valleyshivapuri national parkother gueststhe hustle and bustlejasmine houselocal monasteryowners steverelaxing daysperfect escapewelcoming hostsshort driveveg currylocal guidesurrounding hillshot water bottleshome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 352 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Shivapuri Heights is a very special place and has such a calming and relaxing atmosphere. Its basic rustic decor is both charming, warm and welcoming.

From arriving at the gates of the Hari Krishna temple and walking up to cottage through the village to being warmly greeted upon arrival with a refreshing glass of water the whole ambience is just magical.

The views are spectacular; I found myself sitting for at least an hour marvelling at the views of the bowl that is Kathmandu Valley.

The service is great and everything you need is available on tap, including drinks, food and even the local barber which is just 'such an experience' to have your haircut whilst looking accross the valley, and sipping a glass of chilled beer in between!

The evenings are great as well! Its great sitting by a fire again with snacks and drinks which is followed by dinner - either western or nepali - depending on your preference. The clarity of the stars are amazingly crystal clear away from the light poluted Kathmandu.

Accommodation is quite comfortable and romantic with dimmly lit buddha statue alcoves that sets a beatiful ambience. The rooms are sound proofed, so one isn't disturbed by the sound of chattering children or any other potential noise disturbance throughout the house.

Local walks from the cottage are great. We walked to a waterfall, stripped off to our bare minimums and went in! Very cold, but very refreshing and a childhood dream accomplished!

In general you can't go wrong. Shivapuri is relatively inexpensive, very charming and leaves you wanting more! What more could one wish for.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeDoubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Having made numerous visits to Shivapuri Heights, I always return to Kathmandu and wished I had stayed longer. I am disabled and get five star treatment.

A short way from Kathmandu you feel you are going on honeymoon. It is one of the most peaceful and exciting places I have ever stayed in. The accomodation is very tasteful with private bathroom whilst the staff look after your every whim. Sometimes the dinner table is laid up in the garden, the chef cooking wonderful food both Nepalese and International, I consider myself a good cook and cannot find fault with whatever is served. It is wonderful to have a barbie in the evening, with the garden lit up and a roaring fire. You can see the planes take off and hear the birds and Nepalese sounds from the valley.

There are also escorted walks to a fabulous waterfall. Sitting here in freezing UK I can't wait for my next visit which must amount to fifteen times.

On the drive back to Kathmandu the locals wave and greet you with namaste.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

An extended family group traveling with children in Nepal could test the hospitality of the most genial host, but the staff at Shivapuri Heights Cottage made us feel like royalty. We were looked after from arrival to departure, and hardly had to lift a finger ourselves. The food and drink was excellent, the cottages are very comfortable and thoughtfully decorated, but it is the view down the valley to Kathmandu that overwhelms one.
Many of us had a head massage and haircut, a service that can be booked at the cottage. This took place on the lawn with that view.
We also took advantage of the cottage guide, who took us walking through the hills to a local monastery. It was new, and every inch of the interior walls and ceiling were in the process of being painted with religious imagery. Strange to think it could still be there in five hundred years time.
A favorite snapshot of Shivapuri Heights: Mellow jazz playing, me sitting on the lawn at sundown with loved ones, a large Bloody Mary, a full stomach, and the sight of prayer flags, pointsettas, and Kathmandu lighting up far below.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HastingsKowabunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Shivapuri Cottage has to be one of Katmandu best kept secrets, my wife and i have stayed there on numerous occasion. So what sets Shivapuri apart from the others you might ask.

For me it’s the combination of many ingredient that have been brought together in the right quantity. Firstly its location, is far away from the crowds, yet within easy reach for those of us that simply want time out. Noticeable as you arrive is the fact that Shivapuri cottage is situated higher than kathmandu by two thousand feet or so, offering view that demands that you get your camera out straightaway. Be sure to make the effort of getting out of bed early, have breakfast in the garden just as the rising sun gently warms you, so it does the sights laid out before your eyes, more photo opportunities that should not be missed!

The layout of this cottage is well thought out, meticulous attention has been given to the slightest detail. Someone had taken great pain and trouble in bringing together many yet ever so subtle addictions that all come together to make this oasis a cosy retreat. Check out the door handles, however come evening admire the way recessed lighting has been installed, pay particular attention to this in your bedroom!

Well okay lets move on, after all we are not buying the place, lets concentrate on what most of us talk about when looking back at our holidays, yes the ever lasting topic of Food!

For good reason I could go in to great depth here, however for fear of salivating, I shall keep this short. You should give the local food a try, I promises you that this has to be the best in town and always plentiful. Should it be that you are finding that you are missing your western menu, there no need to panic, you shall be well looked after by cook Jas Bahadur and his assistant Tashi. Both are well accustomed to making your stay most enjoyable.

Okay this is indeed a home away from home, with two attentive staff who are never overwhelming, politely casual can be the norm, but this shall be left up to yourself, they follow your lead and know when to be discreet.

Price? Without doubt very affordable top class accommodation with first class food complimented with a million dollar view.

Should your host Steve Webster accompany you at some stage during your stay, you shall find him most knowledgeable of not only Kathmandu but the whole of Nepal, just what you would expect from someone that has lived in this area since he was just sixteen, now with his forty plus years of experience in this region, I would recommend that you spend sometime discussing Steve Webster’s passion “Nepal”


Enjoy your stay

Nigel J Pogmore

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Focus_on_Travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Stayed at Shivapuri over Christmas and had a ball. Its a great place to chill out and relax especially after Kathmandu. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the food is excellent whether you want a great Nepali daal or a BBQ with real chips! The walks around the cottage are interesting and I would really recommend visiting the new Buddhist temple. Also take advantage of the barber service - being shaved with a cut-throat razor while looking over Kathmandu is a fine fine thing. And the head massage you get is superb.

By the way if the owner is around he not only knows the best places to go in Nepal but he also makes the finest Bloody Mary in Asia.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sparrowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews