We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 4th visit with my group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Ranked #7 of 440 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, MD.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My 4th visit with my group”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Everyone who joins me to visit Nepal, loves staying at Shivapuri Heights Cottages. I took my 4th group there this year. It is a welcome break from Kathmandu. The owners made everyone feel welcome and facilitated our volunteer work in a near by orphanage. The food was better than ever this year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are larger, have modern bathrooms and a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frymis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
86
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a place! On arrival we were greated by the owner and their lovely staff. We were the only guests that night and exhausted, so dinner was promptly on the table and the food was amazing! The views from the main house were immense and the place has a sense of complete calm and serenity. A fantastic break for a couple of days. It's not a location for you if you don't like a bit of a walk from where the car drops you off but if you can get over that and the bumpy ride there it is well worth it! Stunning!! Would recommend to anyone! Even the owners daughter made a point of coming to say hi and I'm not a dog person but both of the dogs were friendly and added to the real sense of home that they have created here! I will be recommending this place to everyone!! The only downside was we only got to stay 3 nights! Thank you for an absolutely wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandLLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was there last week with my family and just loved the place. The owners are nice and friendly and make you feel like you are with friends instead of a commercial place. The ambiance of the place is extremely pleasant and the view of the kathmandu valley is spectacular. The food was great but I thought that the lunch was slightly overpriced. Overall, a really nice place to spend time away from the city. We will definitely be going back there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmozo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here early October. Located a bit out of the noise and traffic of Kathmandu. The property is extremely clean and nicely maintained. The owners are welcoming and try to accommodate any request. They set up all excursions and went out of their way to ensure our comfort. The setting on top of a hill overlooking the city was amazing and the food was great. Another item of mention is that the owners give back to the community and support a local orphanage, not only with monitary donations, but through their time and personal committment. This is a great place to stay in Kathmandu and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikethurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights while collecting data from various government departments in Kathmandu. My colleagues were very sceptical of staying outside of the city, and it is a 45 minute taxi ride into Kathmandu, but I am so glad that I relied on my instinct! Having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Kathmandu was fantastic, there are 2 resident dogs that are as eager to greet all the guests as the rest of the staff. The food each evening was fantastic, and Neeru often joined me for dinner providing various insights into Nepal and the surrounding Himalayan countries she's visited. The staff were brilliant, always smiling and friendly, and Neerudid everything she could to recommend things for me to see in the city after I was done working, and even a place to get a suit made!The cottages were furnished in a very homely way, and I had the best sleep in Nepal during those 8 days at Shivapuri. As I was often in the city for quite long days, it was idyllic to speed back to Shivapuri, and then relax with a book and a cup of tea whilst overlooking the city.

I can't recommend this place enough, I've also stayed in a fancy hotel in the city centre which simply can't compare! I'm looking forward to next year's fieldwork already!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's quite a long taxi ride to get here (45 mins to an hour) but it's worth it. The cottages are set on different levels on a hillside above Kathmandu. It's very peaceful with lots of birdlife and two friendly resident dogs. The cottages are very comfortable with fully equipped kitchens and outdoor seating. The food cooked by JB is amazing and was the highlight of the stay. There are various walks to be done in the area or if you want to stay at home and relax, there is a book collection, wifi and movies available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Shivapuri Heights in mid-late June 2013. Because there were 8 of us in our family, we rented both the Poinsetttia and Bougainvillea cottages, which were beautifully appointed and extremely clean. Located on the hillside overlooking Kathmandu valley, the cottages provided the perfect way to enjoy Nepal's natural and cultural beauty without becoming overwhelmed by the chaos of the city beneath. Reaching the cottages requires a 15-20 minute walk uphill; if you're in decent shape it's not an issue. We had 2 small children with us, and we just took it slowly and avoided the mid-day heat.The views from the cottages are breathtaking, even during the heat and moisture of the monsoon season. The cottages are not equipped with air conditioning. Fans are present in some, but not all the bedrooms. The cottages do have generator back up, but we had problems with the generator in the Bougainvillea cottage. Internet access (wi-fi) was a little choppy, which made working during vacation tough. The accommodations were otherwise fabulous. Everyone was extremely friendly; the food was well-prepared; the staff was professional and knowledgeable. Overall, an excellent value, and a truly authentic way to explore Nepal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveinnepal, Owner at Shivapuri Heights Cottage, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Monita P. Thank you so much for your review of our Shivapuri heights cottage and it was a pleasure to meet you and your family. Thank you as well for your comments about the Internet and the backup generator. I am pleased to inform you that the Internet has been upgraded and a new battery back-up system has been installed in the Bougainvillea Cottage. With best wishes Steve and Neeru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
3.3 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
4.2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
743 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
#205 of 440 in Kathmandu
28 reviews
20.0 mi away
Balthali Village Resort
Balthali Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Balthali
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivapuri Heights Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivapuri Heights Cottage

Property: Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Address: Shivapuri Hills | Shivapuri National Park, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shivapuri Heights consist of three Cottages perched on the hillside above Budhanilkantha, with stunning views over the valley. They are a million miles from Kathmandu, but luckily only 30 minutes by taxi and a short uphill walk. As a secret getaway for families, romantic couples, or a relaxing break from Kathmandu, they're hard to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shivapuri Heights Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivapuri Heights Cottages Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing