We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Ranked #7 of 440 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I shall return to this place! Shivapuri Heights is blissfully located on a hill out of the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu which would wear down the most seasoned of travellers, eventually. It is the perfect place to make day trips into town or to other nearby places of interest. The owners -Neeru and Steve-are extremely knowledgeable of the area and are more than helpful in assisting in your plans to travel further afield. Whilst there have been comments relating to the location being up on the hill as something of an inconvenience -I would seriously reconsider if this is at all an issue. I ended up staying there twice in 7 days, and both times I was met by a man who took ALL my luggage up to the house without stopping for breath, same for the trip back down the hill where a lady half my size took all my luggage back down, putting my level of fitness to shame. It is well worth staying on the hill as on a clear day you can see virtually the whole valley and more often than not your days will end with a superb sunset. The area is full of flowers, native plants and fruit trees -a true Garden of Eden, and there were days when I felt comfortable just pottering about. Most meals are taken with other guests at a dining table, and we shared some of the best conversations ever in my travels! It's also easy to retreat into your own world and read books from their extensive library, by the fire, if it's cold enough.

Room Tip: I had originally booked one of the cottages, but as it was over the Christmas period and therefore a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliamayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
86
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Shivapuri heights combines all the best possible features of a place to stay. Quiet, blissfully located on the side of a _steep_ hill, amazing views, beautiful rooms and cottages, friendly owners and staff, and magnificent food. Their website describes Jas Bahadur as "the best chef in Nepal": this is not true. He is a food artist, and is up to any challenge. The possibilities for casual walks from Shivapuri heights are not limited, and mostly involve going into the national park; but straight up the hill is quite amazing as well. We stayed for 8 days, and only went into the city once. It's quite the place to chill out, as well as a great base for walks.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but be aware that the cottages are a steep walk from the main house (where food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My whole family and I stayed there, we have a 13 year old and a 4 year old, so we thought it was going to be extremely tough to go to Nepal, but we were pleasantly surprised. Shivapuri heights is basically a cottage in the midst of nature and the people are extremely warm and friendly, the food is amazing and we had dinner with all the guests like a big family. Personally it was my favorite part of the whole Nepal trip ;)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoeybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent three nights here and it was a perfect start to our Nepal adventure, wonderful location and views, fabulous food and helpful friendly service. We stayed in the main house with a spacious room with on-suite while friends stayed in the lower cottage - each has its own unique character and is lovely. Little touches included filtered drinking water, hot water bottles, outdoor fire pit, chilled beers and petals on our pillows every night.....

Would 100% recommend it to anyone wanting to explore the Shivapuri National Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottoland
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

warmth, smiles, fresh air, fresh safe salads, friendly staff, great food, wood fire and popcorn, hot water bottles in bed, great views, pretty walks, long talks, sweet village people, soft tones of the wind, aerial city views, butterflies, squash, carrots, honey bathing in sun rays, never ending games with indie, crispy fresh towels, warm tea next to the bed... and so on.
go and stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roosmarijn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at Shivapuri Heights with a group of friends to celebrate a special occasion. We have the whole of Poinsettia cottage for our use. We arrived a little later than expected to a lovely fire at the front of the cottage. This was one of the nicest places I have stayed during my many years of travelling. The hospitality was second to none. Steve was incredibly helpful and the staff team were wonderful.
The accommodation was spotless and the little touches, such as hot water bottles to ward off the nighttime chill were a thoughtful addition.
Both the nighttime and morning view down over the valley were fantastic. Reluctant to leave we decided to stay for lunch and opted for Thai. A wise choice.
We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Changnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveinnepal, Owner at Shivapuri Heights Cottage, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest Changnam - thank you for your review of our Shivapuri Heights Cottage and it was a shame that you couldn't have stayed longer with us but we are honored that you chose to stay with us for your last night in Nepal together with your friends. We hope to be able to welcome you all back again in the not too distant future. With very best wishes Steve and Neeru - owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The title says enough! But I want to add some more. We stayed for 6 nights at the end of October/beginning of November 2012. We booked the little cottage (which is lovely), but since I didn't feel really well the first days, Steve managed we could stay in a room in the main house for all the nights. Spacious, bright and clean room with private terrace.

From here we visited Bakhtapur, Katmandu city, the golfcourse at Gokharna forrest (Steve arranged it), walked to the nearby monestry and the village below with their local guide (forgot his name, but it was a young man and he was really friendly and that counts for all Nepali!!!!).

The last day we invited Nepali friends for lunch up Shivapuri and Neeru celebrated her birthday that day. That was really an event. Lots of lovely snacks, food and birthday cake, music, singing and dancing. Our friends from Kathmandu only stayed a couple of hours, but enjoyed every minute! And so did we and the other tourists! We had a lot of interesting talks with her friends and that gave us a special inside view in their lives and their country. We really, really loved our stay and cannot reccomend this place enough.

We were very sad to leave to Tiger Mountain Lodge in Pokhara. By the way, Steve and Neeru, we gave Marcus, the owner of that place, your best regards. That was also a pleasant feeling, that the owners of all the top places to stay in Nepal, know each other, some better then others. So, they could give tips in advance. And for our next trip to Nepal, we'll keep in mind that Steve also has a travel agency and arranges trips to Buthan and Myanmar (and other places).

Dear Steve, Neeru and all the staff, thanks a million for our top notch stay! Love from Christianne and Harry.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main house and had as much privacy as we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveinnepal, Owner at Shivapuri Heights Cottage, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest gaos - thank you for your words of praise for our Shivapuri Heights Cottage and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am so glad that you made it across to Pokhara and enjoyed your stay with Marcus at the Tiger Mountain Pokhara Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With very best wishes Steve and Neeru - owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
3.7 mi away
Himalayan Height Resort
Himalayan Height Resort
#91 of 198 in Kathmandu
47 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
11.2 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
745 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
#205 of 440 in Kathmandu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivapuri Heights Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivapuri Heights Cottage

Property: Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Address: Shivapuri Hills | Shivapuri National Park, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shivapuri Heights consist of three Cottages perched on the hillside above Budhanilkantha, with stunning views over the valley. They are a million miles from Kathmandu, but luckily only 30 minutes by taxi and a short uphill walk. As a secret getaway for families, romantic couples, or a relaxing break from Kathmandu, they're hard to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shivapuri Heights Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivapuri Heights Cottages Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing