We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 5 star cottage in the foothills of Shivapuri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivapuri Heights Cottages
Ranked #7 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“A 5 star cottage in the foothills of Shivapuri”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Shivapuri lower and upper cottage are a wonderful retreat from the noise and commotion of Katmandhu city. Wonderful food was served on the terrace overlooking the city. Rooms are very well maintained and facilities are excellent. Steve and his wife Neeru are more than happy to cater for individual needs and are on hand to offer a wealth of information. A truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
86
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khor, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a great stay at the cottages and Steve and Neeru have certainly been busy since my last visit with our family in December 2006. Shivapuri Heights is a wonderful calm retreat after the bustle of Kathmandu. The facilities are excellent and although you are aware of issues like load shedding in Kathmandu in general, the backup systems at Shivapuri heights mean there is always the power and facilities that you expect if you are used to your creature comforts! The staff are helpful, knowledgable and friendly and provide a fantastic service. The food is good and you really cannot beat a good breakfast on the terrace over looking the sometimes misty city below. Steve can provide any tour or excursion that you could possibly require within Nepal (or outside!) and he has a great knowledge and care for the country he lives in. We were part of a largish group visiting Nepal and I cannot commend the cottage, Steve and his staff or his company Escape2Nepal, highly enough.

Room Tip: Both the lower cottage and rooms in the main house are lovely, although for 6 people the lower cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_Lucy_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We recently spent two nights in this little bit of paradise. We can endorse all the positive comments from other reviewers relating to food, comfort, view, dogs, bathroom . . and add our appreciation of the architectural and design aesthetic that underpins the whole. Fundamentally, though, there is something about the way that Steve and Neeru live their lives and interact with their guests that is inspiring and energising. We were so glad to be a part of it.

Room Tip: Not so much for the room - the final walk would be very difficult with suitcases. It is worth ringi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
250 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

On our return to the UK after an amazing adventure both in Myanmar and Nepal we feel obliged to share our experience of the Shivapuri Heights Cottages and our trip to Myanmar with the owner Steve and his wife Neeru.

We arranged a 13day trip into Mynamar (Burma) with Steve (http://www.escape2nepal.com) in January 2012 and undertook the trip with Steve, Neeru (his wife) and two fellow travellers from China and the USA. Our trip took us to Yangon, Kalaw ( a former British Hill Station), Lake Inle and then to Pyin Oo Lwin (another British Hill Station. The highlights of these three places were the markets full of local produce and crafts, Lake Inle and the amazing way people fish and live in houses on stilts on the lake. Pyin Oo Lwin has a garden based on Kew Gardens in London designed in 1915 and it is probably even more beautiful.

One of the real highlights was the river cruise down the Ayeyarwady River for 2 days (1 night) especially as it was my wife’s birthday on the trip – a bottle of wine admiring the sunset is a real must. The cruise finished at Bagan and Steve arranged for us to undertake the balloon flight over this amazing city – a personal touch as we should have pre-booked. Our final stop was the beach resort at Ngapali where Steve organised a boat trip for snorkelling, swimming and lunch on a sandy island – sheer bliss. This was the equivalent of the desert island but infinitely superior.

The trip to Myanmar was truly a fabulous experience with real personal touches, lovely hotels and the most amazing South East Asian food.

On leaving Myanmar Andrea and I went to visit trekking friends in Nepal undertook two treks in the Annapurna Region.

The last day before returning to the UK was at the Shivapuri Heights Cottages which was organised whilst we were trekking. After climbing yet another set of Nepali steps (we had walked to Gandruk 5300 steps) what a view over the Kathmandu valley. Jas Bahardur, the cook, prepared a lovely lunch which we had sitting out on the balcony just admiring the view. In the evening we had another amazing meal from Jas with all the staff being very attentive and friendly and our hosts Steve and Neeru - what can we say – simply the best especially as we reminisced over our trip to Mynmar. We have stayed in many locations within Nepal over the last three years but this was easily the best and would recommend the cottages to anyone travelling through Nepal for location, service, comfort and food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotsmanEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I can easily say that this is one of the nicest places I have stayed. Having enjoyed the walk up to the cottages (getting a bit lost but this is my own fault), I was greeted by a rustic and lovely cottage which overlooked Kathmandu valley. The actually room we stayed was well decorated, with comfortable beds and our own bathrooms, whilst the lounge had ample seats, heaters and a gorgeous view. There were also two dining tables on the terrace where you could have breakfast overlooking the valley in the morning. Stunning.
The meals (breakfast and dinner) were simple but well made and delicious, exactly what you need before/after a day hiking and the packed lunches, which we bought one day for hiking, were also tasty and well packed.
As we had been staying on New Years Eve, the Owner Steve and his wife, kindly invited us up to their own house to join the celebrations which was an incredible personal touch missing from many B&Bs and hotels. Staff and the owners were also on hand to provide any information about the area as well as potential treks etc.
I will be back and I thoroughly recommend the place to anybody and everybody.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondefool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Shivapuri provided our (young - kids are 1&4) family with a perfect escape in the hills north of Kathmandu. Kids loved it - hacking around on the trails nearby, visiting a Monastery or just hanging out in the cottages, we'll definitely be back!

Thanks to Steve and Neeru for the warm welcome and a lovely break from the hustle and bustle of Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We had booked a 2-night stay after a long flight to celebrate our marriage anniversary. The 4-wheel car went uphill form the airport after sunset and dropped us in front of a steep path with cosy lights until we reached the majestic view of a great long window showing a big sofa inside, facing a terrace with valley view. We were amazed at how this place is beautiful. But after a shower we were surprised also by the top quality of foods served at dinner. And finally the next day we were touched by all the people there (owners and staff) that submerged us with warm welcomes, unexpected candies at all times (popcorns, tea, lemonade, chapati with peanuts cream), pleasant and interesting speeches.
In the morning they serve an English breakfast in the terrace and it seems Paradise, with the birds singing, the warm sun, above the mist in the valley. We spent the day visiting 2 monasteres (Tenzin from the staff drove us around), we suggest to go during the prayer time. At night, after dinner, they set up a fire in the terrace in front of a full moon. Unforgettable.
When we left, we went to Kathmandu and stayed in silent hotels. I really could weight the difference with such a warm welcoming ambient created by these people. It's really the people who make the difference, yet the place is top class. Although it's selected in the Lonely Planet guidebook, it is a bit offroad, so I would call it a personal secret place, a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
3.3 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
11.2 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
#206 of 433 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivapuri Heights Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivapuri Heights Cottages

Property: Shivapuri Heights Cottages
Address: Shivapuri Hills, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shivapuri Heights consist of two Cottages perched on the hillside above Budhanilkantha, with stunning views over the valley. They are a million miles from Kathmandu, but luckily only 30 minutes by taxi and a short uphill walk. As a secret getaway for families, romantic couples, or a relaxing break from Kathmandu, they're hard to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shivapuri Heights Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivapuri Heights Cottages Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing