We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Shivapuri Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Ranked #7 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Shivapuri Cottage”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

In kathmandu look no further for staying than Shivpuri Heights Cottage. Its a destination in itself. Best thing about Shivpuri heights cottage is that its on top. Away from bustling kathmandu city, maddening noice and pollution. 25 mins walk uphill to cottage is quite physically demanding.Once you reach there, such a beauty and view looking kathmandu valley is breathtaking. Staffs- Mr. tensing & Mr. Xabi are helpful. Evening dinner is fresh and delicious. Cottage is well kept and maintained. Breakfast outside cottage is a memory to cherish. Over all so delighted with cottage/location/food/service, we are coming back again soon !

Thanks to the very hospitable owners- Steve & Neeru.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Appletalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
88
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

It was lovely to arrive at the cool and relaxed atmosphere of this place, after the hot, humid and noisy life in Kathmandu centre. Our room was delightful with all modcons as well as a lovely view from the balcony. I immediately felt comfortable and at home. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and hospitable. We also met some very interesting guests staying here for the weekend and much enjoyed their company and conversation at dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMAT_610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We received an extraordinary welcome and perfect service during these 2 wonderful days in Shivapuri Cottage. Once you enter the Cottage, you feel at home, the decoration is somptuous and the staff is really there to help you to relax from the exhausting city. My son enjoyed the place and the three funny dogs. The food was very good and they let you the choice between Nepali and international meals. I really enjoyed falling asleep with this so relaxing noise of waterfalls coming from far in the mountain. The view is terrific and Steve helped us kindly with logistics as my 6 years old son can't walk yet. FANTASTIC place that I warmly recommend! They have also many formula's for visits and trekkings.

Room Tip: We were staying in the 'low' Cottage which is a perfect formula for feeling at home with som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lololaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nme1557
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed in the monsoon time, but even a little bit of rain couldn't make this a bad spot to stay. The view is incredible and cottage itself is nothing short of ideal. The staff is phenomenal and really tend to you well and also give you your distance. They had some lovely dogs there too which made for a wonderful getaway

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice. We stayed in the upper cottage with the attached bedroom. DVD player is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nme1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband & I spend time in Nepal every year and this is one of the highlights of our visit. The cottage is lovely, the food is delicious and the peacefulness lets one experience another side of Kathmandu. A few days, or a weekend at the cottage is magic. We often share our time there with friends and it is a good place to gather.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenb3478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2011

After completing a physically demanding 19 day trek in the Himalayas, we spent two and a half days relaxing at the Shivapuri Heights Cottage. It provided the perfect ending to our holiday. My wife, myself,and our four children watched afternoon thunderstorms develope high above the Kathmandu valley, took an easy hike to the local monastery, and enjoyed several tastefully prepared, homecooked meals. Steve and his family are absolutely delightful people! It is still possible, while staying at the cottage, to enjoy all that Kathmandu has to offer but the private, quiet hillside is a welcome santuary from the busy city. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FennerFamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Reviews on trip advisor made us to book this cottage. Our 3 days stay with gown up children in upper cottage has been memorable.

Briefing about cottage and road condition on the way from airport , Air port pick , receiving at cottage, enquiring food preference, punctuality of service and personal attention to our requirements have made us feel at home.

Kathmandu view from the cottage is good especially in the night. Amenities are basic and give antique look. Cook took extra care to serve us pure vegetarian food. Quality of food is good but love to have more options at break fast. Reading a book while having popcorn late in the afternoon under shade has been may favourite activity.

Unless you are going for trekking a day or two should be sufficient to enjoy this cottage on hill side.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhaskarbvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
3.7 mi away
Himalayan Height Resort
Himalayan Height Resort
#92 of 202 in Kathmandu
48 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 202 in Kathmandu
382 reviews
4.2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
5.7 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
#204 of 438 in Kathmandu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivapuri Heights Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivapuri Heights Cottage

Property: Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Address: Shivapuri Hills | Shivapuri National Park, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shivapuri Heights consist of three Cottages perched on the hillside above Budhanilkantha, with stunning views over the valley. They are a million miles from Kathmandu, but luckily only 30 minutes by taxi and a short uphill walk. As a secret getaway for families, romantic couples, or a relaxing break from Kathmandu, they're hard to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shivapuri Heights Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivapuri Heights Cottages Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing