We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner was great!”

The Chimney Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $175
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At the time when the longest standing restaurant of its quality was created, the path to The Chimney was just a series of dirt lanes winding between stone houses in the jewel of the medieval Kathmandu Valley. In a fairytale land of not so long ago, the infamous Boris Lissanevitch established The Chimney. Boris' name alone conjures up legends of his unheeded extravagance and enigmatic adventures; famed Russian ballet dancer, entrepreneur, and entertainer of royalty, the tradition of the unprecedented Boris and his Chimney Restaurant continues to this day. By night, the handcrafted, open, copper-shafted fireplace blazes and the vaulted ceilings of The Chimney are illuminated with the shadows of myths as tall as Everest. Boris' original recipes live on as his famous Borstch is served as well as the Smoked Bekti, Chicken a la Kiev, and the flaming baked Alaska Sagarmatha. Traditional favorites are honored while an inspired international menu at The Chimney achieves distinction of its own. With a palette of fresh ingredients, is refined with masterful innovation. Savor Rack of Lamb with an Eggplant and Sesame Ragout and relish the piquant Tartare of Smoked Salmon with Wasabi, but be warned, new creations are always coming out to tempt you.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dinner was great!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived late, but the staff took us in anyway. Atmosphere, drinks, and dinner were all very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rickboozell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Yak and Yeti, Kathmandu, last week. On two occasions we both ate at Chimney restaurant. I must say the food was excellent and so was the service. We enjoyed everything we ordered and I can't really say anything negative about this place. The price is also reasonable for a fine dining restaurant. We will surely return to Chimney when we visit Kathmandu again. Definitely a restaurant worth dining if you are in Kathmandu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Premilamohanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Painful knees but an experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We ate here whilst staying in the Yak and Yeti. Food here is an experience. The traditional 'buffet' lasts for hours and is about a million courses . . . well, it felt like it anyway. Food ranges from Mo Mo's (awesome) to dry dishes that we didn't have a clue what it was. All very enjoyable but be prepared for the length of the meal and the fact that you have to sit 'traditional' style, IE: with your legs under a VERY low table with just cushions as seats. Good expeience though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unusual and Good Fun”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I found sitting on the very low chairs a bit of a trial but the traditional Nepali food was well presented and very tasty. The staff worked hard to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CodfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at The Chimney Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Lal Durbar Restaurant, Hotel Yak and Yeti.

We would love to welcome you back again!

with regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delightful Duck”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I had a lovely meal of roasted duck and risotto. It was very nicely prepared. The ambiance is romantic, quiet and just a tad dark. The copper chimney is a beautiful focal point. The service was adequate.

Helpful?
Thank mickiehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chimney Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to The Chimney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing