We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad mannered staffs !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holyland Guest House
Ranked #62 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was clean,good location too.

But,staffs in this hotel don't know how to behave and how to talk with guests. I was very disappointed.

So,I would like to suggest the management to train their staffs to become more hospitable and polite !

Room Tip: Stay away !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielshr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

The guesthouse is pleasant and welcoming, the room had plenty of light and air and was reasonably clean. The place is quiet and the rooftop garden is a real bonus.
The staff was helpful.
Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaniv1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed double room.
The room was enough space for 2 people and very clean.
And also they has free Wi-fi . I could use internet anytime.
Especially, staff are really profettional,helpful and friendly.
We can get any travel information from them.
If you need information about trecking,sightseeing,airline ticket,
they are willing to help you.
In addition, roof top was really quiet and good atmosphere.

I really reccomend this guesthouse, and want to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmicky0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you want to stay in a nice place in the center of Thamel, I can recommend Holyland guesthouse. I stayed in a single room with bathroom, where the shower was always hot en the bathroom very clean! (That's something that's very hard to get in this area, so that made it even more nice!) The staff is really sweet and always around if you want to ask something. The place has a nice rooftop where you can relax en order something from their menu. The prices for the rooms are really cheap, so it's a good place for budget travelers. Rooms are spacious, but can be a bit dark 'cause it's surrounded by other buildings and it can be a bit noisy 'cause you're in the center of Thamel. But despite these things, it's a good place to stay!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank Simone336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My 1st stay in Kathmandu was at Holyland Guesthouse and I stayed in a double room (USD14) and took up the airport pick up (USD7 per pax).

The airport pick up was a tad overpriced, I learnt that you could get a taxi from the airport to Thamel for 400 Rs (~USD5). But then, you save the hassle of having to haggle with the various touts and drivers when you get off at the airport.

The rooms were clean and quite spacious but a little tad musty and I'd say it's really located in one of the more quiet streets of Thamel, which is good if you're not a party animal or in need of a good rest!

The only downside to my stay was that I had an icy cold shower on the last night of my stay as the electricity only resumed at 10pm that day.

Overall, I'd say if you're someone who likes to take things quiet and easy, you should probably consider a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed in Kathmandu for about a month and I stayed here for almost all of the time. It was about 5usd a night, it was like my little apartment for the month, for that price yiu can't complain! In a nice part of Thamel, I loved this place and I would def stay again! For a nice budget place, stay at holyland!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaplow820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Excelent experience, our room was what we expected, in the heart of Thamel area, close to local nightlife, but still secluded enough to get a good nights sleep. every wish and request we had was sorted out promptly and the staff have done their best to make our trip as easy and pleasant as possible. I would strongly recomend for people who are looking for a decent place to stay while they re exploring the country. they have loads of information handy, and are more than happy to offer trips and excursions all around the place.

Room Tip: if you tell them special requirements at the reception, they will surely try to meet your demands if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayuscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#59 of 210 in Kathmandu
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyland Guest House

Address: Bhagawati Sthan | 29-Thamel, Kathmandu 21851, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holyland Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyland Guest House is family environment, friendly staff. we are very happy to give you a very warm Nepalese welcome. Our property has 19 well decorated rooms with modern facilities. Every room is clean and comfortably furnished, with wall carpeting, It has wide bathroom, 24 hour running hot and cold shower, Free WI_FI internet with wareless, cable TV, loundry service, room with balcony in quiet location, roof top garden provide exclent view of Syambunath known and Monkey tomple. Most room are sunny with great value. The Guest House has roof top garden restruent. Our Guest can have breakfast, Lunch and dinner continental, Nepali and Indian foods. Our Guest House lies in heart of Thamel. where most tourists visit and stay for arranging their program. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, and some of Kathmandu's most famous attractions. Location: Our Holyland Guest House is located in the main tourist hub of Thamel and 7 km away from international airport Tourism Development Council office and Tourism Bank in Thamel are also located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holyland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing