We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the centre of Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holyland Guest House
Ranked #66 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
“Nice hotel in the centre of Thamel”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you want to stay in a nice place in the center of Thamel, I can recommend Holyland guesthouse. I stayed in a single room with bathroom, where the shower was always hot en the bathroom very clean! (That's something that's very hard to get in this area, so that made it even more nice!) The staff is really sweet and always around if you want to ask something. The place has a nice rooftop where you can relax en order something from their menu. The prices for the rooms are really cheap, so it's a good place for budget travelers. Rooms are spacious, but can be a bit dark 'cause it's surrounded by other buildings and it can be a bit noisy 'cause you're in the center of Thamel. But despite these things, it's a good place to stay!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Simone336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
15
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My 1st stay in Kathmandu was at Holyland Guesthouse and I stayed in a double room (USD14) and took up the airport pick up (USD7 per pax).

The airport pick up was a tad overpriced, I learnt that you could get a taxi from the airport to Thamel for 400 Rs (~USD5). But then, you save the hassle of having to haggle with the various touts and drivers when you get off at the airport.

The rooms were clean and quite spacious but a little tad musty and I'd say it's really located in one of the more quiet streets of Thamel, which is good if you're not a party animal or in need of a good rest!

The only downside to my stay was that I had an icy cold shower on the last night of my stay as the electricity only resumed at 10pm that day.

Overall, I'd say if you're someone who likes to take things quiet and easy, you should probably consider a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed in Kathmandu for about a month and I stayed here for almost all of the time. It was about 5usd a night, it was like my little apartment for the month, for that price yiu can't complain! In a nice part of Thamel, I loved this place and I would def stay again! For a nice budget place, stay at holyland!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaplow820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Excelent experience, our room was what we expected, in the heart of Thamel area, close to local nightlife, but still secluded enough to get a good nights sleep. every wish and request we had was sorted out promptly and the staff have done their best to make our trip as easy and pleasant as possible. I would strongly recomend for people who are looking for a decent place to stay while they re exploring the country. they have loads of information handy, and are more than happy to offer trips and excursions all around the place.

Room Tip: if you tell them special requirements at the reception, they will surely try to meet your demands if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayuscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

this hotel include many good things...
especially, staffs are very kindly and they give us fun time.
some staffs can speak japanese, if you are japanese, you can communicate easily.

see you somewhere in the world!!
from shoichi

cheers

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoichinisanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We are very happy to provide a review for the Holyland. Birendra who runs the hostel is a genuine, happy guy who is very helpful. All the staff are very professional and make a real effort to help out when needed. The hostel is in a great location at the top end of Thamel, rooms are varied in size and generally spacious with good light and air. The hostel is kept very clean and tidy. on the top is a great roof top garden. We found some great small local Dhabas nearby and the guys are able to arrange extra things like purchasing your water in bulk and saving on plastic bottles, free storage of gear whilst away walking .Simon and Solveiga

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solveiga1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I think this is best place to stay in Nepal. Because, the price is reasonable. and the peple is also friendly and kind. the room also enough to stay. yeah, its really comfortable to stay! when you come to Nepal, I recommend this guest house! Sincerely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joji Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Serenity
Hotel Serenity
#83 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Tranquil Homestay
Tranquil Homestay
#47 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
327 Thamel Hotel
327 Thamel Hotel
#26 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Mountain Homestay
Blue Mountain Homestay
#6 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyland Guest House

Property: Holyland Guest House
Address: Bhagawati Sthan | 29-Thamel, Kathmandu 21851, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holyland Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyland Guest House is family environment, friendly staff. we are very happy to give you a very warm Nepalese welcome. Our property has 19 well decorated rooms with modern facilities. Every room is clean and comfortably furnished, with wall carpeting, It has wide bathroom, 24 hour running hot and cold shower, Free WI_FI internet with wareless, cable TV, loundry service, room with balcony in quiet location, roof top garden provide exclent view of Syambunath known and Monkey tomple. Most room are sunny with great value. The Guest House has roof top garden restruent. Our Guest can have breakfast, Lunch and dinner continental, Nepali and Indian foods. Our Guest House lies in heart of Thamel. where most tourists visit and stay for arranging their program. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, and some of Kathmandu's most famous attractions. Location: Our Holyland Guest House is located in the main tourist hub of Thamel and 7 km away from international airport Tourism Development Council office and Tourism Bank in Thamel are also located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holyland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing