We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another amazing place in Thamel”

Cafe Mitra & Lounge Bar
Ranked #3 of 13 Dessert in Kathmandu
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Mitra - popular with locals, expatriates and tourists - specializes in modern Nepali and Chinese food along with European dishes. We have a full bar with cocktails, wines, fine liquor and beverages. We also have 4 rooms tucked away in a quiet landscaped garden in the middle of the vibrant madness of Thamel. They are clean, quiet and comfortable with en suite bathroom and plenty of hot & cold water. At the moment we are working at adding 4 more rooms, hopefully by April 2015. At first glance, Thamel appears to be overwhelmingly chaotic. It is, no doubt. However, the fact is this compact heart of Kathmandu has all the amenities to ensure that visitors are never far from services they require, such as travel and trekking agencies; supermarkets, just in case you forgot to bring your toothbrush; pharmacies for your anti-allergy pills; and international or locally-made outdoor wear! It is easy to get your money out safely from several ATMs; hunt for souvenirs; and send them home via air cargo. Thamel is also conveniently located, allowing easy access - even on foot - to important historical, cultural and religious highlights that Kathmandu has to offer such as Kathmandu Durbar Square where the Royal Kumari, the Living Goddess, resides; Monkey Temple aka Swoyambhunath; Garden of Dreams; Royal Palace Museum, etc. All these places are walks of 10 to 30 minutes from us. And if you want to take it easy - after all you are on a holiday! - Taxis and rickshaws are plentiful. Just get your bargaining chops fine-tuned to perfection! So, buy your ticket, hop into an aeroplane, or a bus, and allow us to introduce you to Nepal and its unique hospitality and charms! It is our sincere hope you will enjoy having a meal with us AND also staying with us. Kunal Lama - Owner
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“another amazing place in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

what a wonderfully quaint restaurant! love the outdoor seating, love the indoor pseudo-Moorish settings! it was quiet, clean and pristine although located right next to the main street that is Jyatha. As we stepped into the gardens, it felt like I was in another world!
Food was abit pricey but definitely worth the try. One of the better places to have great cakes in Thamel. Was abit annoyed that they played music from Metallica when we were there which kinda killed the ambiance. Good service, but quite slow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have known the owner, Kunal for many years. He has created a superb oasis in the heart of Thamel - garden, cafe and 3 stylish rooms. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TMPL_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

A lovely tucked away spot in busy, noisy and dirty Thamel - can you tell I am not a fan of Thamel?! Had a wonderful lunch in garden setting; peaceful surroundings and delicious food and capped off by wonderful decaf cappuccino - now you can't find that easily in Nepal! Service was very slow but friendly. Prices on the high side but overall a lovely experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and posh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

The food here is amazing. Expensive and posh but still, amazing. I came here with my mother and she thoroughly enjoyed the tasty quiche while I had soy ginger tofu appetizer. It's more western prices but the entire experience felt very "western". The desserts looked amazing and I will definitely be back! The waiters are nice and the owner and manager are the sweetest.
Worth a splurge!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethmtY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Appaling Attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

I've been to Kathmandu may times and eaten at Cafe Mitra before when it was in the old building adjacent to the road in Thamel. It has mow shrunk and retreated into the back garden. The food was always good, but pricey by Kathmandu standards but was worth it for special occasions. My wife and I visited in person to make a reservation 3 days before our last night in Kathmandu.

When we arrived at the appointed time a few hours before our flight home we were told that the restaurant had been reserved by a large group and there was no space for us. It seemed quite clear that the booking from a bigger group took precedence over us. Complaining bitterly I asked to speak to the owner who they said was not there and when I said 'phone him' they said he was not contactable (this is a country where everyone from the humblest trekking guide has a mobile phone to keep in touch).

So I really would suggest that you avoid this place. There are plenty of other restaurants in Kathmandu in this (expensive ex pat/NGO) category and find somewhere that will provide a decent service and not 'bump you' when they get a better offer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mitra & Lounge Bar also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Cafe Mitra & Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing