We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tibet peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tibet Peace Guest House
Ranked #215 of 442 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Tibet peace”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice.coca cola! And Nice garden. Nice people and Nice rooms. Good wifi.. more quite then thamel. You can also leave your bag there when you go on trekking. Its safe there.. they also have good pizza and momo and you can refill your bottle.for 10 rp. And there is hot shower! 24 hour.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
3
18
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed in Tibet Peace Guesthouse just for the last couple of days. The rooms are clean but a bit old. Some of them have attached bathrooms.

However, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Although there are similar offers just around the corner. The price is a bit more than in the centre of Thamel. But because Tibet Peace is situated in a quiet side lane, you will have a better sleep. It's worth to check it, if you're staying in Kathmandu just a few days.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a pretty good value with attached bathroom plus TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Tibet Peace Guest House for two nights before I departed Nepal for my return home to Sydney.
I wanted to stay in Kathmandu shopping district so I could conveniently pick up some souvenirs before going home.
The Tibet Guest House has quite a large number of rooms, I stayed in a single room - included double bed, private bathroom with hot water and European toilet.
There is a restaurant on site where I enjoyed Nepal style breakfast and Marsala tea.
The staff here were exceptionally helpful and assisted with taxi bookings for my trip to the airport.
The outdoors has a nice garden setting and there is a book shelf with information about 'whats on' in Kathmandu - sights, restaurants, activities etc.
I highly recommend this guest house to people wanting accommodation in the heart of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisr_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had booked the rooms online, the payment was to be made in cash on arrival, once we reached the place, at around 11 pm the whole place was closed and had to honk for quite sometime before the guard came in. This guy had no idea of the booking, so he had to call his boss to confirm.

The room provided was real real bad, we managed the same for mostly we were out and travelling and needed the room just to crash for the night.

With traveling to other locations in Nepal did find out that this guy was charging us like crazy, and once we complained we got a better room.

Suggestion: they will not give you a good room until you ask for the same, so that's how you talk .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amriten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well considering the price i knew what i was getting (600nrps). My room was on the second floor no balcony in the 2nd building. Which was good more light and less noise coming from the common area. Room was small, kind of humid with mildew in the bathroom. Not top clean, carpet is not great when it's 85°c. The garden has been slightly reduced!!!!compare to the photos i saw.
The surrondings are very quiet considering the location. Thamel is like 5min walk. The staff was really nice and friendly. But i think that across the alley you will find better alternatives as for example the Yellow house.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms next to the garden (or what is left of it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Quebec, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Tibet Peace is well named. You can hear the birds and not horns 2 minutes from Thamel, and yes, it’s possible! I just spent one month in this guesthouse where I felt like at home. Many staff, cheerful, friendly and always there to meet your needs. The owner and his wife even came with me one night in the hospital emergency and then, they fed me with «jaolo», the perfect food for the sick people (kind of rice soup with chicken buillion and vegetables). Room cleaning on request, impeccable. Chow mein and fried rice excellent. Many other services: laundry, tickets, excursions, etc.. Really I recommend this place. For sure, I will go back there one day!

Room Tip: My roon was on the second floor and located on the side of the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantaliarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Regrettably I was following the recommendation of Lonely-Planet and booked Tibet Peace Guest House by phone from Pokhara. Asking if their "best room" is available they said yes - and we booked the "best froom" for the highest rate. Arriving there we got a very bad and quite dirty room, ground floor, next to the garden, incredibly loud in the evening. It was impossible to sleep before 1 a.m. Hot water did not work. After complaining the thext morning they offered us a room that was a little better, but far away from what we had expected. The garden was quite dirty. The waiters didn't care about the open sugar bowls, so the little sparrows that were sitting on fresh mule [--] just before were now enjoying their delicious dessert... Yukky. The dustbins in the garden were packed through our stay, nobody emptied them. The service was somewhere between bad temper and uninterested. We didn't feel welcome, but ripped off. The lodge just opposite of Tibet Peace Guest House is a much better choice! It's painted in yellow.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEBASTIAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Garden House
Kathmandu Garden House
#43 of 442 in Kathmandu
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tibet Peace Inn
Tibet Peace Inn
#3 of 442 in Kathmandu
316 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibet Peace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Peace Guest House

Property: Tibet Peace Guest House
Address: Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tibet Peace Guest House is located on the western side of Thamel Tourist junction. There is a beautiful open garden, making this a tranquil and have spacious rooms with attached bathroom, cable T.V., and telephone facilities. Tibet Peace Guest House has over 20 years of experience, being a member of the Hotel Association of Nepal (HAN) and has been noted in various guidebooks such as lonely planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tibet Peace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing