We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really happy with our experience at M & R Grill”
Review of M & R Grill

M & R Grill
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really happy with our experience at M & R Grill”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were meeting family in Abilene for a day trip to see the Eisenhower museum, etc., and wanted a place to each lunch together. This restaurant turned out to be just perfect for that. Though the place was busy, it wasn't loud and we were able to hear each other talk. The menu was great, as well as a great kids' menu too. Service was excellent with friendly servers. Everyone enjoyed the food they ordered. The menu offers variety. Nothing fancy but everything was prepared perfectly and tasted great. Small towns can be difficult for dining out, but we were quite pleased with the M & R Grill.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
catania
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love fajitas!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here and I ordered beef fajitas: delicious!!! Even better than many Mexican restaurants I've eaten at... Great place and food!

Helpful?
Thank ariCatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So So”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

It was okay but nothing to write home about. The seating seemed really crowded together and very noisy. The food was okay but I know there are better places in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was in Abilene overnight and had a hard time finding a place with decent food (other than fast food). This was close to our hotel, right off of I70. I'm a vegetarian and it was a bit difficult to eat off of this menu but not impossible. Had to order a chicken Caesar salad without the chicken, but it worked. Food was good. The building looks a little sketchy from the outside, more like a bar than a restaurant, but once inside all was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HikingisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food was OK but service was poor.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife's order was wrong. The chicken fried chicken I had was good. However service on a Tuesday night was poor. They need more servers. When asked about a discount on my wife's order they took $2 off. I didn't feel like I needed to ask and I expected them to comp hers. Good restaurants know how to handle their mistakes. We live in KC and don't make this drive often so I guess they won't miss our business.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to M & R Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing