We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere, Good Fried Chicken”

Brookville Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Herzogenrath, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Fried Chicken”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

There is no meue, the restaurant serves only family style fried chicken meals comming with coleslaw, mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, cottage cheese, relishes, biscuit and an ice cream in the end.The food was excellent and the service very friendly. Been there a couple of times before and it was allways a great experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gheorghe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    72
    35
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent and excellent!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I'd heard of this restaurant for years and thought people must be exaggerating; they just have to be. Oh, was I wrong!

My daughter-in-law took us here after a day spent in Abilene revisiting places her favorite Aunt had taken her. They do one thing; fried chicken. That first meal was perfect; the chicken, the potatoes, the gravy, the corn, the relish tray.

Her husband was so sad to have missed out that we drove back that weekend, did some other things in town, then dinner. The 2nd time was as perfect as the first.

Today my wife and I went back to finish our sight-seeing and couldn't miss the opportunity to eat here again. Again, absolutely perfect meal!

I have to come up with another excuse to drive two hours each way again soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Big meal at Brookville”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have been to the Brookville Hotel in Abilene a number of times now, which is a replica of what was in Brookville many years ago. The meal is just like your grandma used to make on Sundays - fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, cole slaw, creamed corn, rolls, cottage cheese and other relishes, and ice cream to top it all in the end. It is served family style, and you can have refills. The staff is attentive to this, and you just keep eating! If you have someone who is celiac/gluten intolerant with you, you can request a baked chicken for that person. Be sure to make reservations and tell them in advance of the need for baked chicken (they need at least two hours notice).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Pre-set menu, very affordable, friendly service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

You go to this restaurant with an expectation of being served the single menu affair: chicken, slaw, potatoes, gravy, ice cream, corn and biscuits. The service is friendly and the food fills you up. This is home style fried chicken, served in family style. The price point is very, very inexpensive and you will take home what you cannot finish in a box. But, don't go with the expectations of an outstanding meal. What it offers, and you will experience is an excellent value of fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy that your Mom made. We enjoyed our time and ate the chicken with our fingers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“One Hit Wonder”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had been given rave reviews on this restaurant prior to us going. I was not impressed. I've eaten at several other 'historical' establishments with a much better selection of food. The only reason I rated this as 'poor' instead of 'terrible' was the fact that the chicken was good, but limited, as I prefer white meat and you only get one piece of white meat with the pieces (equaling the half chicken). Neither my husband or I particularly enjoyed the 'sides' of creamed corn, 'sweet' slaw, or cottage cheese. There were no GREEN vegetables or salad offered. The menu is the same at all times. There is a small offering of relishes (pickles, etc) offered and biscuits, there is a scoop of ice cream for dessert. You pay additional for your drinks.

Other reviewers compared this to Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC), being from Kentucky, I have eaten at the famous 'Colonel's Lady' Claudia Sander's Dinner House. At the dinner house they have a variety of vegetables available, and all you can eat chicken for $14.99.

save your money and go further into Abilene to Joe Snuffy's Restaurant. You'll be glad you did!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookville Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brookville Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing