We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good”

Brookville Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Abilene, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This historic restaurant offers a family style chicken meal that reminds one of being at Grandma's house on a Sunday afternoon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A'lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    71
    35
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best fried chicken in Ks”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The staff is friendly, the portions are generous and the price is very reasonable. This is the best fried chicken I can remember having and the sides are delicious as well. Don't miss it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VERONICA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Family Time”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Our families who live in Manhattan often eat at the Brookville Hotel for special occasions. Living out of state I haven't eaten there in over ten years. Our visit this evening was as amazing as I remembered. My kids loved it also.
This restaurant is a great place to spend time with family. We had a private dining room with 2 tables to provide plenty of space for our party. The server was very friendly and prompt with the food and drink refills.
I am not usually a fan of cole slaw, but this recipe changes your mind. The mashed potatoes are pure goodness. I'm not sure what the add to the sweet corn but it is unlike any corn that I have had before. Of course the chicken is wonderful, that is what you are going for.
The owner popped in to talk to us and explained the murals on the wall as well as the photographs in the hall. He invited us to view the upstairs and gave some interesting history of the hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed out visit, the good and time with family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boudta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Brookeville Hotel is a great place to go for a family gathering. There's nothing like sitting down to a meal that looks, tastes and is served like it was prepared at home, but has none of the clean up!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The place to go for a great chicken dinner!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a Saturday lunch when visiting Abilene. THE BEST fried chicken ever! Served family style and more food than you can eat! Nice ambience, excellent service. You must eat here when in Abilene. There is also a cute gift shop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookville Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brookville Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing