We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great”

Brookville Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Used to be great”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When this restaurant was in the real Brookville Hotel in Brooville, Kansas it was great but that was long ago. Now it is in a very pretty new building just north of I-70 exit 275.
They serve a family style chicken dinner for $15.00. You will get half a chicken, instant mashed potatoes, mediocre gravy, coleslaw, corn and rolls. Chicken was very tough and hard to chew. Kinda like Sunday dinner at Grandma's house if Grandma can't cook.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clgfeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    72
    35
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what is used to be.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I ate here after Brookville Hotel relocated from the orgional Brookville, Kansas location. It's a replica. Looks pretty good but the food is not what it used to be. Sure you can get full if you don't have a large group but it's nothing like the all you could eat chicken and fixings like you used to get. Sit down to a hearty meal. Large bowls are brought out and you help yourselves at the table. Kind of like being in grandmas kitchen.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great home-style cooking”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

If you love your grandma's great home-style fried chicken and all the fixings- this is the place to go.

Conveniently located just off I-70 in Abilene, Kansas, it is a great stop for lunch or dinner traveling from Kansas City to Denver.

This is a fixe-price meal of half a fried chicken, made from scratch biscuits, mashed potatoes and gravy, homemade jam, creamy-to die for-corn, cole slaw, pickles, cold peaches and wonderful vanilla ice cream for dessert. You can even take your left-overs home, but bring your own containers unless you want to pay 50 cents each.

This is well worth the reasonable price of $14.99. Enjoy!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Churchbuilderdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hope you like chicken!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First clue,I smelled the chicken while I was parking the car,with the windows closed,while it was raining no less! It was delicious. They serve chicken,which they keep bringing out til you say stop... cole slaw,mashed potatoes,creamed corn,pickles( I think they were homemade!!) and rolls! That's it,so you really don't need a menu! Just know you'll be having chicken for dinner!haha I did not stay there,since I only live down the road,but it was my first visit,and it was with friends! But they close early,so make reservations and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hpdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delicious and Family oriented”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The food is all served family style. We had made reservations for six which included a high chair and a booster. When we arrived the table was ready and setup with the highchair ready to go. They brought out the food very quickly which is a wonderful thing with small children. It was all so good. We ate too much. They bring out the homemade ice cream to top it off which is also good and a favorite with the children. During the meal, my oldest spilled her water and they were very good about it. They brought extra towels and offered to replace the table cloth which we declined. They were very kind about it. They were quite busy. My only complaint would be bigger glasses because I ran out of tea but I drink a lot and it was hard to keep up.

Helpful?
Thank TwotimesMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookville Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brookville Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing