We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice But Pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice But Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here because a horse show in Salina, Ks. had all the hotels booked. It was a nice, clean property. Check-in was ok. The desk clerk was nice, but the computer was running slow and didn't want to print our receipt. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We didn't use the pool, but it looked small. The breakfast was typical, nothing special. This was a nice property and our stay was fine, but it's just too expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blsp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    76
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
56
66
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Arrived about 9:00 and checked in. Staff was away from desk and had to wait 5 minutes until someone came back--then check in went smoothly and staff was pleasant. Room and surroundings are beautifully appointed, but then our problems arose. When we entered our room we noticed that the ac seemed loud and toilet squealed, but overlooked it with TV and conversation. When tried to sleep the AC rattled, made erractic noises and seemed to get louder. My husband tried to fix it but rattle noise was coming from inside of AC. Walls also seem thin, people in next room were talking in normal voices and could be heard through the wall. Finally, about 1:00 a.m. asked and was given new room, but given little apology and no compensation. New room was nice and quiet, but we spent little time in it due to needing to leave early the next morning. Ice machine in hallway was also quite loud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwitt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Kwitt12,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our hotel and your check in was smooth. However, I am sorry that some of our other guests and the Air Conditioner kept you awake during your stay and I apologize for any inconvenience caused. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I'm not sure what it is about the midwest, but even the most mediocre hotel comes in at over $100 including tax. The Holiday Inn Express in Abilene was right in the price range.

We needed a hotel for an overnight and the HIE served that purpose. However, the hotel room was only adequate. In particular, the microwave was small and had an off odor. The bathroom lacked efficient ventilation and the molding around the doorway was stained and scratched (as though a dog had been locked in there).

The breakfast was on the lesser end of comparable hotels. The bananas were overripe and they were down to three yogurts in the fridge.

On the plus side, the pool and the spa were clean and well kept. I noticed they had a fitness room. Also a sauna, but as it was 105 degrees outside, the sauna wasn't being used.

Also on the plus side, the guest laundry featured a nice front loader and cost only a dollar to wash and 75 cents to dry.

You could do worse than the HIE, but darned if it didn't seem like we paid way too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmiraOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear ElmiraOregon,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I appreciate the compliments about our pool and spa facilities as well as the guest laundry. I am sorry that you were let down by some issues in your room, particularly the microwave and inefficient ventilation in the bathroom. I apologize that the quality of breakfast served did not live up to your expectations. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and new. Very nice and accommodating staff, close to Eisenhower Museum.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RZDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Exceptional staff. Very eager to correct if something arises. Breakfast typical choices,sausage, pancakes, eggs, yogurt, cereals, etc. Very clean!

Room Tip: Handicapped accessable pool !! Great hot tub. Small gym but functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdr05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

It's extremely clean with a friendly staff. It's a great family hotel with a sparkling blue inside pool, & jacuzzi along with WiFi. & family setting lobby. For the weary traveler they provide hot coffee 24/7, & a hot continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazywhitewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin Missouri
Level Contributor
236 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This property has a great location, the NE corner of the I-70 Abilene exit. We were a little apprehensive about being next to I-70, but honestly, didn't hear any highway noise. We were so surprised to see the historic Brookville Hotel (chicken retsuarant) literally across the street. I noticed seveal HI Express guests just walking to dinner. The property was clean. In our room, there was a little mold around the top of the shower. The shower head needed replaced. We had a room with 2 double beds. There wasn't adequate room for the beds and a desk. The desk chair was broken, had tears in the upholstery and needed thrown away. The matress also needed replaced. And, there were no luggage ramps at the side doors. The staff was very friendly. We were in a non-smoking room. However, it bothered me to see the reception clerk, asking other guests, "How many ashtrays would you like?".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Mark43,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate the compliments about our hotel location and staff. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory room conditions to our attention. We work hard to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations.

Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abilene
2.1 mi away
Diamond Motel
Diamond Motel
#4 of 4 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Junction City
Hampton Inn Junction City
#1 of 14 in Junction City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
21.6 mi away
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
#3 of 14 in Junction City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
24.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 30 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Address: 110 E. Lafayette Ave., Abilene, KS 67410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Abilene Kansas is a new, award- winning hotel with 61 comfortable rooms, including 15 spacious one room suites. We invite you to come visit historic Abilene Kansas, we are near the Fort Riley Army Base, Eisenhower Center, Duckwall Alco and the Russell Stover Candies plant. We invite you to come experience the Holiday Inn Express in Abilene Kansas and enjoy our award wining services our hotel provides. We have an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, exercise room and sauna. Additionally, we offer free High Speed Internet in all guest rooms as well as a complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. Visit Abilene, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Hotel Abilene
Holiday Inn Abilene
Abilene Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing