We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Letdown”
Review of Mr K's Farmhouse

Mr K's Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a Historic Farmhouse that was built in 1888. Has served as a restaurant from the 1930's to the 1970's and again from the 1990's to currently. Various celebrities from President Dwight D and Mamie Eisenhower, Actor Jimmy Stewart, Big band eras musicians and Press Secretary Marlin Fitzwater.
Colorado Springs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Letdown”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Maybe our expectations were a little high from the research I did on the web, but we were disappointed to find this to be a very average place to eat. It's location on the outskirts of town, and its legacy from an earlier restaurant named Lena's led us to believe this was going to be a special experience. My wife had to send her steak back because it was tough and had gristle (not acceptable for a filet). My steak was average and unremarkable. In retrospect, we should have ordered the fried chicken, but we we talked out of it due to the 30-to-40 minute wait described by our waitress.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelSome73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I wouldn't have guessed it!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I ended up at Mr. K's Farmhouse Restaurant on a Tuesday when the Brookville Hotel Restaurant was closed. I'm so glad it was closed or we would have missed the experience. Located outside of town this hillside farmhouse with a long wheatfield-flanked driveway was a surprise. Showing up at 5:00 just as the restaurant opened there was only one other car present so we thought "uh oh - are they even open and if they are open, how good could it be?" But, as we sat down and were waited on, a steady stream of visitors soon filled the parking lot. We ordered the fried chicken which took awhile because it's cooked fresh, but was worth it! We are history buffs so after we ate the salads while waiting for the chicken, we wandered around the farmhouse to view the Dwight Eisenhower pictures and memorabilia. There are signed wooden paddles all over the place and were told if it's your birthday, you'll get an old fashioned birthday spanking and then a dessert for a reward a tradition started in 1939 by the original founder of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It wasn't really chicken!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My grandfather requested this place for father's day and on father's day the grandfather always wins. We were actually pretty excited to have some good home cooking, fresh fried chicken? Yes please! The place is really cool, the restaurant is an old farm house on a hill and they maintained the flow of the house which is very different. Most of us decided to skip the bones and chose chicken fried chicken instead of the regular fried chicken. It was so disappointing when the meal arrived and on the plate was a very flat chicken nugget. This was exactly like something you would get out of the freezer section at the market. Not only does it taste like nothing but salt when you cut it open and look at it you notice it is that obscure "formed rib meat" that even most fast food joints are trying to move past. So disgusting especially from a place that passes themselves off as a real home cooking restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We like the place!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Food was great. The service was great. Don't tell them you have a birthday.....The paddle will come out. It's a tradition. The original owner Lena actually spanked IKE! IF that can happen, you will get it too. We avoided it by not saying anything. The place is outside town and you have to look for it, but, it's easy to find and most GPS's will find it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joegilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We ate here at the recommendation of our B&B, the food was excellent and very good value. It is in an old farmhouse, nice quaint atmosphere. Be sure to ask about the specials for the evening!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank APK_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr K's Farmhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mr K's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing