We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We like the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr K's Farmhouse

Mr K's Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a Historic Farmhouse that was built in 1888. Has served as a restaurant from the 1930's to the 1970's and again from the 1990's to currently. Various celebrities from President Dwight D and Mamie Eisenhower, Actor Jimmy Stewart, Big band eras musicians and Press Secretary Marlin Fitzwater.
Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We like the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Food was great. The service was great. Don't tell them you have a birthday.....The paddle will come out. It's a tradition. The original owner Lena actually spanked IKE! IF that can happen, you will get it too. We avoided it by not saying anything. The place is outside town and you have to look for it, but, it's easy to find and most GPS's will find it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joegilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We ate here at the recommendation of our B&B, the food was excellent and very good value. It is in an old farmhouse, nice quaint atmosphere. Be sure to ask about the specials for the evening!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank APK_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Restaurant off Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were referred to Mr. K's farmhouse by by cousin who lives in Abiliene. What a treat to get off the interstate and near the riverbottom to enjoy views and gourment food. Could not have found it without our GPS but well worth the effort!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tab Hunter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Had the grilled tilapia, it looked like it was steamed , with no flavor to it. The baked potato was warmed up or had been baked early that morning. The salad was not that much better with flavored bacon bites, (like the real bacon). The only thing that was real good was the soup. My wife had chicken stripes, she said she has had better, and her French fries were ok.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tab H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We've eaten here many times in the past, as we live in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was unhappy with the way soups were made...chicken soup was greasy & had tomatoes in it. The potato soup had green peppers in it & wasn't good for a touchy stomach. We quit going to eat here. After a couple yrs., we returned & the food was better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr K's Farmhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mr K's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing