We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
62
57
16
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
62
57
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower fell sick problem with hot water comfortable stay green tea wonderful property hotel is located bathrooms were clean market place heart of the city food quality shopping area decent hotel corner room location is excellent perfect stay taxi stand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 140 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Centrally located near clock tower, restaurants, convenience stores and shopping area. Small compact rooms, good service, decent food. However water supply was erratic...maybe this was the case in all of Thimphu.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank APPMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGManager, Manager at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear APPMum,

Thank you for your review of Gakyil, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu. We apologise about the slight water supply issue but during your stay there was a problem with the municipal supply which we were forced to rectify with our own resources which we have in the case of such incidents. We do hope you visit Bhutan and Gakyil again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

Just back from a blissful trip to Bhutan. We stayed at this hotel when in Thimpu and I am so glad we did. The hotel location is on point - in the heart of the town and few steps from the clock tower where there are so many lovely cafes and restaurants. Breakfast spread was one of the best we had while in Bhutan. Encountered the most warm, friendly and courteous staff here. Be it the male or the female staff, everyone always had a warm smile and eager to assist you. I would give the credit to the hotel manager and super woman Sushila Rai - who ensured that our stay was an unforgettable one. She would be with the guests every morning during breakfast, looking after each one herself despite her staff being present there to cater to our needs. She was such a delight and gave us (we were a group of 4 friends) a beautiful surprise on the day we were leaving. And it wasn't just us, I saw some aunties hugging her before they left. The rooms were sufficiently equipped with everything one might need/find in other similar category hotel with the added plus of happy faces - both of guests and staff. Would highly recommend Gakyil to all when in Thimpu.

P.S The staff also gave us a great recommendation for dinner where we got "good Indian food" which is a rare find in Bhutan.

Room tip: All rooms are quite as is the rest of Bhutan. No views as it is in city centre.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShaguftaN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGManager, Manager at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Dear ShaguftaN20,

Thank you for your review of Gakyil, we were happy to be your choice in Bhutan and glad to note that you enjoyed our central location as well as our guess services. We do hope you visit Bhutan and Gakyil again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

I had a well spent night at this property. Room is very clean and fair enough space. Friendly and accommodating staffs. Near the clock tower (Heart of the City) and easy access to shops and restaurants. It’s easy to get a taxi if you like to explore more the place and other districts.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank hessamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGManager, Manager at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Dear hessamarie,

Thank you for your review of Gakyil, we were happy to be your choice in Bhutan and hope that you visit us again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019

We stayed in this hotel during our visit to Bhutan in Nov 2018. The rooms are big, airy and well lit. The best part about this hotel is that it is located in the heart of Thimpu city therefore all the good bars, restaurants, shops, cafes and taxi stand are easily accessible. The staff are super cooperative. A big high five to them. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank red_rudra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGManager, Manager at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Dear red_rudra,

Thank you for your review of Gakyil, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu. We were very pleased that you enjoyed our unbeatable central location and guest services. We do hope you visit Bhutan and Gakyil again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

Lovely 4 star city hotel, service excellent, food good. Little problem with hot water system, everyone on board trying to fix asap, all good. Met a teacher and bunch of students from an international school in Singapore, they were extremely happy with motel. The only young people I'd seen on trip... interesting.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGManager, Manager at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2019

Dear LuluLifestyle,

Thank you for your review of Gakyil, we were glad to be your choice in Thimphu and even more happy to note that you enjoyed our central location. We apologise for the hiccup with the water and were happy to be able to resolve it for you ASAP. We hope you visit Bhutan and Gakyil again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews