We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is Good .. But still need to rate average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jumolhari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jumolhari Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Kolkata
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“It is Good .. But still need to rate average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good Business Hotel .. In the Middle of the main city of Thimpu. Walkable distances for all major big offices of thimpu. Good for Business Travelers. My Rating should not discourage the business travelers to book a room . The Reason , I am rating it as 'Average' and not as 'Very good' is only because , I need to ask for 3 basic things for a business traveler -
1. Phone was not working
2. Wifi was not working
3. TV was not working

But upon request , they have changed my room and infact upgraded from Delux to Junior Suite without any extra cost.

Just little more professional touch was required,

1. Food is OK OK for Indians - Some of you may like some of the dishes. Will advise you to hold your Non Veg hunger till you cross the Bhutan Border. Bhutan does not allow to kill animals , so all Chicken / Fish / Pork comes from India. It is prescribed to eat Veg or Egg in Bhutan ( for Non Veg Indians as they are habitual fresh chicken eaters ) . This suggestion is because of taste and nothings else.
2. Staffs are extremely friendly . But still to improve , as I have seen , girls in the restaurant are laughing on a non English speaking foreign guy who has ordered soup , potato & some other staffs in Break Fast. It was unusual in the ambiance that this Hotel has. Restaurant ambiance is very good . The guys just need some more training.
3. Rooms are fairly OK. There is a fridge , but it was empty. A rate chart was still there hanging from the fridge.
4. Hotel does not have a lift, so Elderly and disabled persons , take extra care to book room in 1st Floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hritu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
31
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

great location of the hotel. right in the center of town and everything is a walkable distance. The rooms were quite clean and well serviced - hot water, heater, internet and cable. The staff were pleasant, efficient and friendly. The only drawback was that breakfast was chargeable and not the usual complementary. not too much of a range for breakfast. But then at 8 in the morning there are no other options around and had to eat there. I guess this could be one of the better hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: Rooms onto the south side are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

No elevator. A fairly new hotel in the central part of the city. Nice walking to shopping and all of downtown. Quite noisy because of dogs barking all night, but probably this would be true of any hotel here. The breakfast was less than average.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side, away from the street. This is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
328 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The front desk staff was smiley. Wifi was sporadic at best (best spot is right by the window on the non-desk side of the lobby). Food in the restaurant was average to below average - cold more often than hot.

The massages are very good, and, there is a shower by the massage rooms that has HOT water. My 3 attempts at a shower yielded three icy, yelp inducing leaps from the tub/shower - maybe you have to try before 7 a.m.?

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so, if stairs are an issue, request the lowest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

When we arrived, we were handed a key, with no greeting or information about the hotel. We then hiked up three fights of stairs to our room. Part of the room had a very low sloping ceiling. The room itself was just ok, we could hear voices from the surrounding rooms and we had to jam a piece of cardboard in the faucet to keep the shower going. We we met with absolute indifference at both dinner and breakfast. In fact, there was no food at breakfast, just empty buffet dishes, despite 3 staff milling around- I won't even go into describing the food once we did get it. I'm glad that this wasn't my intro to Bhutan!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDreviewer60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is smarter looking than many of the others in Bhutan's capital.
restaurant serves a decent range of food. Service remains slow and unresponsive however.
No elevator, with all bedrooms upstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were given a windowless room (205) and told it couldn't be changed when the hotel wasn't full. The food was poor and just about lukewarm and there appeared to be no management presence at all in the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont accept room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thimphu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thimphu hotels
0.0 mi away
Wangchuk Hotel, Thimphu
Wangchuk Hotel, Thimphu
#23 of 36 in Thimphu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osel
Osel
#5 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Galingkha
Hotel Galingkha
#22 of 36 in Thimphu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gakyil
Gakyil
#13 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bhutan
Hotel Bhutan
#30 of 36 in Thimphu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumolhari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumolhari Hotel

Property: Jumolhari Hotel
Address: Chang Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jumolhari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Jumolhari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumolhari Hotel Thimphu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing