We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great beds free wifi”
Review of Jumolhari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jumolhari Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice place great beds free wifi”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable beds, quiet, nice staff! Clean. Good restaurant. Lots of TV.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    43
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
32
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our small group of ten stayed here several nights during two weeks in Bhutan. I loved the central location which made it easy to window shop and find souvenirs and little things I needed. We'd been warned about how the dogs like barking all night so I was prepared with good earplugs. Food was fine. Room was clean and there was an elevator when I was too weary to walk. The staff members were friendly. Good laundry service. Yes, I'd stay there again.(Sept. 2009)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Small, modern, good facilities, including business and massage, good staff, view of rubbish dump from bedroom offputting though and noisy dogs. Food, as usual, lukewarm and beer too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unimpressed749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed in Jumolhari Hotel in 2006 when it was new and it was a good experience.

Stayed again in February 2012 and it was dissapointing. The bathrooms are in need of refurbishment. Both shower and sink taps were practically falling off. Very little hot water - had to run the taps for almost 10 mins before it become bearable, not nice in the middle of winter!

The rooms need to be better maintained and cleaned. Paint was peeling in the room, the edges of the carpets had not been cleaned. Some liquid was spilt on the tables (arranged for housekeeping to clean this, which was done promptly). Internet was very weak (even by Thimphu standards). The room was cold and drafts were creeping through the windows.

Only positive note was staff who were friendly. A good spring cleaning would do wonders for the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adi-Bandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a clean, updated, bright room with comfortable beds and bedding. Nice bathroom, too.
The Wifi didn't work, and the food was so so, but the service in the restaurant was very accommodating and concerned. The street noise was a little loud, but abated later in the evening. Overall a good experience, comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hotel bills itself as a boutique hotels and triggers expectations it can not meet. It's just a normal hotel in the center of Thimpu.
The staff is not attentive at all and did not care whether hotel guests were OK after an earthquake one night.
The Indian food is enjoyable. Breakfast and local food are uneatable. There are other places in town offering really good stuff. Would recommend avoiding food in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thimphu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
wash dc
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is a cute and well run hotel. The rooms are good size, clean, and renovated, not run-down. I was here for 2 nights in Jan 2012, and in both cases, the room heaters were very effective. The wifi is solid, unless you get a room on the 3rd floor - the second time, my room was on the 3rd floor, and wifi never worked there at all. I doubt if it ever works on that floor, so i would suggest avoid that if possible if wifi is important to you. I had no problems with street noise or barking dogs either time- nights were quiet and peaceful.

By Bhutanese standards, this is a pretty well run modern hotel. By international standards however, its somewhere between 3 and 4 stars. The restaurant is decent - i had breakfast and dinner there for 2 of those days. The chicken tandoori and deal makhani were both very good - rest were ok but not memorable. The location is excellent though, right in the heart of downtown Thimphu. Service was professional and friendly for the most part.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplefeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thimphu hotels
0.0 mi away
Wangchuk Hotel, Thimphu
Wangchuk Hotel, Thimphu
#22 of 36 in Thimphu
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pedling Hotel & Spa
Pedling Hotel & Spa
#14 of 36 in Thimphu
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wangchuk Resort Taba
Wangchuk Resort Taba
#28 of 36 in Thimphu
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bhutan Suites
Bhutan Suites
#10 of 36 in Thimphu
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kisa Hotel
Kisa Hotel
#15 of 36 in Thimphu
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galingkha
Hotel Galingkha
#24 of 36 in Thimphu
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumolhari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumolhari Hotel

Property: Jumolhari Hotel
Address: Chang Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jumolhari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Jumolhari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumolhari Hotel Thimphu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing