We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 Days Explore the Hidden Kingdom of Bhutan
13

Book in advance
from
$1,920.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Dochula Pass
from $1,920.00
More Info
from $2,507.00
More Info
from $2,740.00
More Info
from $2,285.00
More Info
Reviews (2,277)
Filter reviews
2,277 results
Traveler rating
1,453
700
110
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,453
700
110
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews himalayan mountain range prayer flags must visit place excellent view clouds soldiers cloudy mountains memorial victory temple battle bhutan paro king
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 2,277 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2019

The Dochula pass is basically a group of 108 chortens or stupas arranged in concentric circles in the middle of the road. The chortens were constructed to ward off evil spirits and in remembrance of soldiers who lost their lives in the Bhutanese war of 2003 to destroy the militant camps. The chortens are surrounded by beautifully manicured gardens. Himalayan peaks can be viewed from this point but we weren't able to see them due to foggy weather. Good to spend 30 minutes on the way to Punakha.

To know more about places to visit in Thimphu and Punakha, you can read our article on Fairytale Studios (Find the link to the article in the TripAdvisor profile).

Date of experience: May 2019
3  Thank Fairytale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

this is one of highest motorable pass of bhutan with amazing weather and views (if weather is clear) on way to punakha. there are 108 small temples built by the queen of bhutan for peace and are must see. can spend hours here enjoying the weather and views out there.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Umesh_Singla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

When I reached here it feels like I can touch the sky. Dochula pass is the highest pass between Thimphu and Punakha city and the second highest pass of Bhutan with 10000 plus elevation.
There are 108 stupa/chorten at the center of the pass as a memorial of martyrs, fought at Bhutan-China border. A monastery is also built here. You have to climb up some stairs to reach this monastery.
If you are lucky or the sky is clear then you can see Himalayan's eastern range mountains. I have faced breathing problem a little bit.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank smhasan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

Dochula Pass is highest point along the Thimpu - Punakha Highway. There is huge parking & a restaurant adjacent o parking. It has two attractions side by side. The place great for a short break.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Mainaaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

We actually went there thrice. Twice because we were going to Punakha and you have to cross this and third time because we loved it so much. Lovely view, you can see clouds floating by. Not to be missed.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank nirwamehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews