We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we staying in Bhutan”
Review of Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ro-Chog Pel Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Thimphu B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place completely exceeded our expectations and I'd recommend it without hesitation. Located just before the city gate, about a 10 minute drive from the center of Thimpuh, the hotel is set on a hill overlooking the valley. Our room, #7 on the 3rd floor, was enormous and very well lit. It had a comfortable king size bed with soft pillows, a separate sitting area with a couch and chair and a flat screen TV with a huge selection of English language stations, and a bathroom with a bathtub (which we requested based on some previous reviews). There were a selection of toiletries (soap, bath gel, shampoo, lotion, razors, toothpaste), a powerful hair dryer, and soft, fluffy towels. The staff delivered our luggage to our room, which required them to go up many flights of steps! The rooms are located in buildings behind the main building, where the reception desk and restaurant are located. WiFi was available in our room, with a strong signal and high speeds. There were three heaters in our room, which kept us toasty in December. Since we were traveling in the low-season, both breakfast and dinner were made to order, not buffet. For breakfast, we ordered whatever we wanted off the small menu, which include any style eggs, fruit, baked beans, porridge, fried rice, etc. It was very good. Dinner was acceptable, but nothing great. As with other places, the portions were huge. They brought a small "buffet" to our table that included several types of vegetables, fried chicken, French fries, spaghetti with tomato sauce, and rice. It was a random combination, but there as plenty to choose from and we left full. Of course, this is Bhutan, so there were some funny things. For example, there was a lamp on the bedside table but no plug nearby so it sat there for decoration. Despite the large room, there was no dresser or closet - just a coat rack with a few hangers on it. The bathtub and shower lacked a shower curtain, so the floor got a bit wet - but I've experienced MUCH worse. The water was hot and the water pressure just fine.

Room Tip: Room #7 on the 3rd floor was huge and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a very good hotel but you can still categorize this hotel into a budget hotel as per their pricing. The good thing about this hotel is that it is very centrally located. After your work you can stroll the Thimphu main street up and down in the evening till the shops and restaurants close. You can opt to. my tour company booked at this hotel from Nepal, place is good & perfect sleep,

Room Tip: room front side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

the hotel is simple but clean and very nice. We stayed for two nights in the suite that has living room and spacious bathroom. Despite the cold weather outside, the room was so warm and cozy. The staffs are friendly and very helpful.

If I go back to Thimphu, i will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the suite. Its a lot bigger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maewmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was disappointing. Rooms are characterless and lacking in amenities - no cupboard or wardrobe, no handtowels, no shower curtain. We asked for dinner at 7.30pm but at 7pm were phoned in our room and asked to come down to eat. Nevertheless we had a drink before dinner and saw another group also being harrassed to eat. When we did eat it was the least good meal we had in Bhutan - very overdone chicken, undercooked vegetables etc and breakfast was no better. There was a conference in the hotel at the time and I think this hotel is perhaps more geared to conferences than tourists. It is better to stay in Thimpu itself as the hotel has no amenities and there is nothing to do after you have been rushed through your dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazing property, nicely & newly build with bhutanese architecture. Suite rooms are very spacious . Comfortable beds to sleep. Nice view from rooms. Food was excellent ,service was exceptional. Owner of resort took us for nice trek to monastery. We had a wonderful stay in this resort. Would recommend ,if somebody wants to stay away from town.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dimpleNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed two nights in April, 2013, had a fabulous view from my window in a clean and spacious room. Food was excellent - by far the best I had in Bhutan - and the staff were incredibly friendly and accomadating. Walking distance to the city gate and a large stupa where each morning I met local and expats doing their morning prayers and exercises.

Room Tip: Top floor room had amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank divinedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is not within Thimphu but just outside the city limits. It's kinda convenient if you are coming from Paro Airport because it is along the way. It is built on a hillside and the views from the rooms are limited. However, the staff there were very friendly and they agreed to bring a group of us up to a nearby monastery at 6am in the morning. The food there was not bad. Selection was limited as one might expect but it is pretty decent and good. The rooms were large and clean. A portable electric heater was provided. The toilet is quite large and clean too but the water heater is spotty and a little challenging to use. It was working in some rooms but not in others. It is also counter-intuitive because 'H' stands for cold water whereas 'C' stands for hot water. But it is really quite okay and worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that starts with 1 or 2 and not 3 because rooms that start with a 3 are tucked int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wesley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thimphu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 38 in Thimphu
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 38 in Thimphu
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 38 in Thimphu
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Gakyil
Gakyil
#11 of 38 in Thimphu
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ro-Chog Pel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

Address: Post Box No. 828 | Rama, Chang, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Thimphu
Price Range: $85 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Ro-Chog Pel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing