We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New but need improvement”
Review of Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ro-Chog Pel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Thimphu B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“New but need improvement”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Hotel Ro Chong Pel located just outside Thimphu where we had a great view of Thimphu River from our room.

Nothing fancy about the lobby, we had to walk through the restaurant to go to our room that located on another lever. Lobby on the ground floor, restaurant on the first floor and we had to go out of the restaurant and walked up a flight of stairs then reach the buildings that consist of rooms.

You cannot charge the hotel by the lobby. Boy, the room was huge! I think we were in a suite! There were two parts in the room. One was the living area where the flat screen TV, Two sofas and a heater located. Another part was the bedroom with comfortable queen size bed and the bathroom.

The entire unit was clean. There were total of three units of heaters in the room however we did not think they were powerful enough, perhaps it was too cold at night.

Bathroom was big and clean with enough amenities however there was no shower curtain over the bathtub. This made a mess every time we took our shower in the tub. The floor mat near the tub was not that good. It was slippery. Both Charlie and I slipped a few times but lucky enough not to fall on the ground.

I love the fact that the room consists of four large windows that gave us lots of sunlight and with the gorgeous view of the Thimphu River.

As this hotel was just opened in Jun2011, everything was new and in good conditions. However no Internet service in the entire hotel though. Making your own coffee and tea in the room was not possible because they did not provide coffee and tea making facility in the room. However when we had our coffee at the restaurant, it was complementary.

The hotel staffs were friendly and the food was excellent!

We would definitely be back to this hotel if they have more powerful heaters during wintertime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed here for one week in early December, visiting my mother who had been here for six weeks while working in Thimphu. For us both, it was our home away from home. Owners Tashi and Wangdi are gracious and caring hosts and they have trained their staff very well. If at first you hesitate about the "out of town" location, do reconsider. It is so rewarding to be beyond the hustle and bustle and you will savor the breathtaking views of the mountains, river, and city gate. You can go for walks up or down the hill or just relax with a pot of tea in the sun on the terrace. With a ten minute drive, you'll be in the heart of Thimphu. Paro is just 45 minutes away. Rooms are well-appointed, comfortable and nicely sized. Food is fresh as can be, wholesome and varying. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yatrika40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
274 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Rog-Chog Pel is about 10 minutes outside of Thimpu, set a bit up the hill so it has nice views of the river. It was less than a year old when my wife and I stayed there for two nights in October 2011. At first we were disappointed that we were not staying in the city proper, but since we had just come from a couple of nights in very “rustic” accomodations in Pobjihka Valley, we found it was very nice to have some creature comforts and a good night’s sleep (we understand many of the places to stay in Thimpu can be very noisy).

Our room was very large, with a separate sitting area that had a couch, easy chairs, and a flat screen t.v.. The view from this room was a panoramic vista of the river. The large bedroom was attractively decorated and had a dresser and comfortable queen beds, but oddly there was no closet and very little storage area for clothes. The bathroom was large and had a tub/shower combo and a vanity with lots of counterspace. It was well-stocked with amenities.

Access to the rooms was a bit odd – either up some outside stairs or through the restaurant to one of three multistory buildings. The lobby/lounge area was large but a bit stark. The restaurant had a nice view of the river, and both the food and the service were very good – a bit different from the usual Bhutanese tourist fare. There was free wif-fi, but like everywhere else in Bhutan it was erratic.

Overall we recommend the Rog-Chog Pel if you don’t mind being outside of Thimpu. They are trying hard and have most things right.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trashigang
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The recently opened hotel Ro-Chog Pel the way I see is indeed a home away from home. Right from the hotel owner as a host and the warm hospitality by their staff has this family approach that you will not miss your family. The rooms are large and of international class.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinkinpenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Ro-chog Pel hotel in the capital Thimphu, is a new and modern hotel. Very comfortable and wonderful service

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. I stayed at the hotel 3 nights on my way to east Bhutan and 1 night on my w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Should you be lucky enough to find yourself in, or going to, Bhutan you will undoubtedly be amazed by the scenery, culture and the lovely people you find in this magical Himalayan Kingdom. You may not, however, be quite so impressed by the standard of accommodation or food - neither is dreadful but nor is it much to write home about. The one exception we found was the Ro-Chog Pel Hotel, only six months old (in October 2011) and more than able to match international hotel standards. The rooms are very large, well appointed, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food is by far the best we encountered during our two week stay (crisp, fresh salads to die for!) and the service is exemplary. It is currently about a ten minute drive from the centre of Thimphu but this should not put you off - indeed, unless you are keen to be serenaded by the capital's canine population, it is a distinct advantage.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoboFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thimphu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Phuntsho Pelri
Hotel Phuntsho Pelri
#22 of 36 in Thimphu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tashi Namgay Resort
Tashi Namgay Resort
#2 of 36 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Metta Resort & Spa
Metta Resort & Spa
#1 of 36 in Paro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jambayang Resort
Jambayang Resort
#6 of 29 in Thimphu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ro-Chog Pel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

Property: Ro-Chog Pel Hotel
Address: Post Box No. 828 | Rama, Chang, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Thimphu
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Ro-Chog Pel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing