We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a peek - it won't take long”

Royal Textile Academy of Bhutan
Ranked #7 of 54 things to do in Thimphu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beauty and diversity of the living textile arts of Bhutan. We have the finest examples of woven, embroidered and appliqued textiles on display alongside relevant production techniques in our Textile Museum. Visitors can also observe weavers and embroiderers at work at our Weaving Center on the premises of the Royal Textile Academy. Opening times: Monday – Saturday 9:00 – 17:00
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Take a peek - it won't take long”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After missing the museum on several trips to Thimphu, I finally went in. I had expected/been told it would take about an hour. Well - really - about 20 mins was plenty if you stopped and read. The examples of kiras and ghos is nice if slim. There was weaving going on in the back room - but ...I snuck a peek: you weren't supposed to go in!

As a tourist it is likely on your itinery - so go...but realize you have time for some emadatse with chia to spare.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    105
    39
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san francisco usa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I didn't have great expectations for this facility, but it's worth spending 30 minutes here to learn more about the national dress, and see examples.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajwsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting to some”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

So, for me this was a great place to visit. I am very interested in costume and textiles, which is the focus of this small museum. There are also a few weavers demonstrating their craft on the ground floor. There is a shop which sells textiles. To be fair, this is probably too specialized a museum for many. My husband was not as engaged as I.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Neat”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I'm not really into textiles but I thought the 20 minutes or so was worth the time it took to go through the museum. The downside is that a lot of the textiles aren't really that old, the upside is the room near the shop where some weaving and embroidery take place. I spent 15 or 20 minutes watching a couple of women make textiles for the Queen and it was fascinating and well worth my time. Also it was the only room that was heated....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eyegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful crafts”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

the young women working to make fabric from the loom is incredible. To get designs accurate is a great skill

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank L_and_RBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Textile Academy of Bhutan also viewed

Thimphu, Thimphu District
 
Thimphu, Thimphu District
 

Been to Royal Textile Academy of Bhutan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing