We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor ambience, food standard drop”
Review of Plums Cafe - CLOSED

Plums Cafe
Cuisines: Tibetan
Restaurant details
Seminyak, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor ambience, food standard drop”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Lady owner (a Singaporean) act like big-shot.
She inherited this restaurant (and a lot of wealth) from her late husband, who used to be the chief cook.

She should have done up the place instead of letting it rot.
Kitchen dirty.
The catering row looks yucky.
Food sucks.
Service sucks.
Portion small, stingy.

We went to The Bhutanese across the road - much better fare / ambience / even live Bhutanese cultural music.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AidiJoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Average food, good location”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I visited this cafe because it was listed among the top 10 by a guide book. It's easy to find because it is at THE traffic junction in Thimphu.

The food was extraordinarily average. The chicken was chopped up with its bones. I don't know why they do it when in the West there is fillet and in the East there is boneless chicken. Soup was passable; vegetable was fine.

The lunch bill for two of us came up to Nu495.

As for the location, you can see traffic below it. And the traffic cop has stopped whistling.

From my perch, I could see two dogs lying right in the middle of the intersection.

An American friend said that in his next life, he wants to be reincarnated as a dog in Thimphu. You can lie down in traffic and they will avoid you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than our hotel, cheap, and i liked it”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Bhutan is not a gourmet place, but we found Plums to be preferable to out five star hotel. My first national chili and cheese dish was there and I loved it (which was the last place i could eat it -- too hot elsewhere). Ambiance was nil, other than the bird's eye view of the traffic cop who replaced the one-time, for limited duration, traffic light (and did another reviewer REALLY complain about him? He was the floor show!) but the decor was likely standard for Bhutan. lack of patrons suggested that there were better places elsewhere, but that also meant that service was good, and it was near the hotel, whose prices were higher and food disappointing. We went several times in a short visit and no stomach problems. Good bang for buck. I liked it! Say hi to the dog sleeping in the stairwell.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wastina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“no atmosphere and mediocre food”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

this is not a recommendation. Location is quite good but the food was not so great. its quite cheap though

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmaziliaTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Average local dish”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Many local enjoy their meal here. They serve local dish with nothing special. Rather than visit the restaurant, my office always ask for their catering service outside.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plums Cafe also viewed

Thimphu, Thimphu District
Thimphu, Thimphu District
 
Thimphu, Thimphu District
Thimphu, Thimphu District
 
Thimphu, Thimphu District
Thimphu, Thimphu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing