We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice dinner here”
Review of Hotel Tandin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thimphu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tandin
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Thimphu
Reviewed October 16, 2012

For dinner my guide took me to Tandin. It serves Chinese, Indian and Bhutanese food. The order was taken shortly after our arrival, and the food came in a reasonable time. I had Mushrooms with cheese ( instead of chillies with cheese), ---datsi, not s;icy and nice, rice, and a good Raita with vegetables.Prices seemed good too. Some more people were having dinner, and all in all the place looked nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am not rating the hotel, only its restaurant. The restaurant was recommended by a guide as serving good local Bhutan cuisine. I was not disappointed. The food was spicy and very flavorful. The portions generous. Unfortunately I came on a Tuesday which is a dry day in Bhutan. Located less than 100 yards from the traffic circle. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Tuesday is dry. No alcohol or beer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank psalamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A place with good location, clean and inviting rooms, friendly staff, value for money. a good restaurant to accompany. absolutely what one needs. Perfect. keep it up!
We just walked in after a long ride from phuntsholing and this was heaven. The wood panelled rooms had an cosy atmosphere, almost homely feel. The food at the restaurant was as fresh as possible and yes very tasty.
I recommend the place to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaPUNzElIvorytower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Althought the entrance to the hotel looks a bit shady, don't judge it by its outer appearance. The hotel is located on the first floor of a shopping complex on a busy street. Once you reach the reception, you will find people who receive you with a warm smile and are well trained to handle difficult customers.

It has a restaurant + there are great cafes, pubs, and pizzerias within a walkable distance from the hotel.

The rooms are tidy, warm, and large. Our room was spacious. We even had a couch, TV, and balcony! For Rs. 805/- (tax included) per night, it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunchOfYahoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

It is a wonderful business trip for us, it is very centrally located . The service and the ambiance of the room is very good even the Bathrooms.Twenty four hour hot and cold water with high pressure . So you've an wonderful bath after a hectic business trip. It is also within the budget.You can stay as a tourist,traveler or a office trip.The staffs are very good as well as their communications.I would have rated this hotel as excellent for its multiply purpose utility. You can enjoy your Thipu trip by staying at thishotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soumya_373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel is all right for only an overnight stay, very basic amenities, the staff are all right. The best part of the hotel is the restaurant which serves good mix of Indian, Bhutanese and Chinese food.
They do not have phones or will not allow you to make even local phone calls from the hotel so best if you purchase a simcard if one needs to use a phone.
Overall hotel was okay for the price we paid.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank yangchendolma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Room is Okis and comfortable , Room service is also OK , Food not bad , Internet service very poor so many time shutdown , You have to bring the drinking water from lobby. Bathroom was clean hot water geyser installed at bathroom , Beds are firm, Location at very good .

Room Tip: Room of the Front face 404 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhaskarmitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thimphu hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#5 of 38 in Thimphu
336 reviews
2.3 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 38 in Thimphu
206 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kisa Hotel
Kisa Hotel
#14 of 38 in Thimphu
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dorji Elements
Dorji Elements
#16 of 38 in Thimphu
141 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jumolhari Hotel
Jumolhari Hotel
#25 of 38 in Thimphu
122 reviews
8.3 mi away
Zhingkham Cottages
Zhingkham Cottages
#29 of 38 in Thimphu
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tandin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tandin

Address: Norzin Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Thimphu
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing