We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thimhu's peaceful secret”
Review of Peaceful Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peaceful Resort
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Thimphu
Reviewed November 14, 2012

You drive through winding roads up a hill side, past colorful buildings into what appears to be a quiet residential area. You turn a nondescript corner and suddenly before you is the Peaceful Resort. We would find it difficult to find on our own, but we had a local driver and it was quite easy.

The check-in formalities were quick and easy. Anncho, the girl behind the counter (an Audrey Hepburn in “Roman Holiday” look alike) was pleasant and efficient. We were booked into a room on the second floor and the wooden stairs were so steep that we were breathless by the time we got there. We realized of course that we had just flown into a elevated country from sea level and were still to get acclimatized to the rare air here.

The room was huge; you could fit in three European budget sized rooms into it. The suitcase rack was generously wide and deep enough to take three suitcases. The floor was parquet. A large wooden wardrobe, two beds were joined together to make one large one. The sheets were clean, the pillows large and plentiful. The comforters were perfect. Several windows ensured that the room was bathed in light. The balcony covered two adjacent rooms and was 4 foot wide and 40 feet in length. You could practice for a marathon here.

The view from the balcony was inspiring. You could see the tops of several buildings and in the distance the hills looked serene and inviting. There was an oriental looking building near the hotel. Looked like some well-heeled Bhutanese live there. The interesting thing was that at night we could look into the kitchen of that building and time passed observing smartly dressed ladies in aprons bustling in and out of the kitchen ferrying food to (no doubt) several hungry mouths in the dining room. I wondered if I could sneak into the house and take a seat at the table and participated in the meal and if anyone would notice. Wishful thinking!

The toilet was well appointed, health faucet, large sink, plenty of hand and bathing towels. The shower cubicle was badly designed, as there was no depression in the bath area all the shower water spread in the toilet making it wet despite having a shower curtain. A problem, simple to solve but left unattended. Several of the lamps would come on and go off mysteriously - the ghosts of the past may have taken residence in the electrical circuits to keep themselves warm.

The staff was all very attentive and room service was surprisingly quick. The food was just OK but was served hot and came with proper cutlery and crockery. The support staffs such as housekeepers, gardeners, room service all had genuine pleasant smiles and made us feel very comfortable.

I had read reviews saying that the area was noisy. But I found it quiet and restful. On a couple of occasions I heard some hammering and sawing but not much. Some wood varnishing work was in progress on the 1st floor and the smell of varnish permeated the air on day two making us feel quite heady and high - no extra charge for that though. A few large flying insects came to inspect the premises but buzzed off politely after a quick round.

We were told us that the hotel was being expanded by adding a few rooms on a new wing. Considering the moderate rates I am guessing that this resort will do well over the coming years. The management - Mrs Durga and Ms. Pratima are doing a good job of looking after this unpretentious property and I am sure many travellers will return to this friendly resort after staying there once. My wife and I certainly will re-visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 15 - it had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heelswithwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 228 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

I agree with the recent reviews. It was mostly quiet and peaceful, as its way out of town, but there were a few dogs barking at night, and in the one day I was there, one guy with a hammer was doing construction next door.
The bed was very nice, and the room was ok. The bath was very nice, as was the breakfast. I might have preferred a hotel in town, but there really is not that much to do there anyway.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a nice hotel but far from town. There is construction all around during the day (until 8pm) and then the dogs take over , barking all night long.

King size beds, TV. Wi-fi. The meals were the best we had in Bhutan. Different from everywhere else, with even an interest in how the dishes are presented. Table service rather than buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Pros: Clean big room for family. Heated. Clean nice bathroom. Quiet. Basic but good meals. Breakfast with fried eggs and toasts plus other stuff.
Cons: too far away from Thimphu town so nothing to do once the sun sets and its hours to kill before dinner time. You have to go outdoor to get to the restaurant so have to put on warm clothes every time which is a pain.

Room Tip: We had a suite on ground floor with balcony. It was spacious and nice, especially if travelling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UyenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We opted for Peaceful Resort because we wanted to stay away from the noisy town and was highly recommended by the travel company i was interacting with. We were also making last minute booking, so the choices weren't available.

Peaceful Resort is situated roughly 4 KMs from downtown Timphu in a residential area. All around the property there were construction going on and was not a pretty sight. Check in and check out at the hotel was a breeze and the staff were very attentive.

Rooms are a little cramped but had decent wifi and good beds. Bathroom did not have partitions for wet and dry areas, this could get a little messy. Bathroom was not impressive, though functional and was not cramped.

This hotel caters mostly to group tours.. While we were there, we came across atleast two different groups from India with a lot of kids. It was way too noisy and hardly any peace at Peaceful Resort. We would have been better off staying in downtown area.

Restaurant was average and,nothing great to write about. Staff was very courteous and helpful though. They were a little confused, especially at the bar counter. Make sure you double confirm your order at the bar.

I do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms, comes with more light and windows. All rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InsaneNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and glad we din't have to stay for long.
Though the staff is courteous and the hotel has decent food, the place is not peaceful! Construction noise from 6 AM to 10 Pm in the night was disturbing. The rooms and bathrooms were clean but the curtains din't close completely and rooms (deluxe) felt so packed. The place is far from the main market so getting a cab to and fro is not convenient. There was no AC in the room and we were asked to keep our windows open for air (which meant more noise and dust). The view from the room was passable. We were staying in room number 11 (first floor).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After a long travel from Phunetsholing, we were looking for comfortable place to stay..Peaceful resort was the right place we were looking at. The stay was more than comfortable and the staff amazingly courteous. The rooms were large and spacious, spic and span. The food was tasty and they did provide us with bhutanese dishes on order too. For someone from India, where the heat can drain you we found the hotels/ homestay /resorts to be without fans and surprisingly we realised that we dont require it. Overall it was a great experience staying at peaceful resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBN_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thimphu hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 38 in Thimphu
332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Osel
Osel
#7 of 38 in Thimphu
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thimphu Towers
Hotel Thimphu Towers
#2 of 38 in Thimphu
289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 38 in Thimphu
254 reviews
3.8 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaceful Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaceful Resort

Address: Upper Motithang, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Thimphu
Price Range: $66 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peaceful Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and BhutanBookings so you can book your Peaceful Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaceful Hotel Thimphu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing