We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place in downtown Thimphu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kisa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kisa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Thimphu
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very nice place in downtown Thimphu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

A very nice hotel located in downtown Thimphu. We stayed hear as part of a tour of Bhutan. The hotel has all of the expected amenities including nice sized rooms, firm beds, shower, Western toilets, TV, etc. There was wireless internet available in the room. Computers were also available in the lobby for guest use. He morning breakfast was good. The location of this hotel is very good for walking around Thimphu. It is close to many good restaurants, shops, Bank of Bhutan and the post office.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    105
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
56
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
various
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights, with a gap in between, in April 2011. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The staff are very eager to please but can't bring themselves to tell you if there is a problem. We had no water on two days out of the four and it was always' five minutes' from being fixed The food is at best, mediocre. The lift is comedy value with no logic, it departs to the fifth floor for no apparent reason and the door needs a special masonic nudge to encourage it to close! The alternative is an early start to your trekking.
Great views if you get the right room, a blank wall if you don't.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thimphu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

No hot water in our room for 2 days, when I asked, they offered a bucket of water , isn't that amazing??? The bathroom stinks, elevator broken, dirty sheets, dirty restaurant, poor room service, we asked for an extra blanket, they didn't give us, my wife and I got a cold. I tried to talk to the manager, she avoided me. Suggestion: avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NandoVellutini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed for the 2nd time at the hotel with Friends from France. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Staff friends and helpful. Rooms comfortable and very functional. Location is very good with the main shopping and walking area just behind.
Recently opened hotel and they have maintained the facilities.
Only draw back would be the dogs the bark all night !! ( This is the general problem with Thimphu!!!!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel2001in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

The hotel was very pleasant and clean, and the room and the bathroom were quite large. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast choices, while not very large, were more than adequate. It is true that the dogs barked all night long, but that was not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
338 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

This was supposed to be an upgraded hotel according to the Bhutanese government standards. Based upon the other hotels we stayed at I would say it was average. Our review had a "view" of the alley where dogs barked all night. The restaurant was average. Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

The view of the city is terrific. My husband and I watched the sun come up over the hills of Bhutan, sipping tea and relaxing. Great location right in the heart of the city. The only problem is the DOGS!!! They rule the city and spend the night traveling in packs and barking to guard their territory. Wear ear plugs to sleep and you should be fine.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thimphu
0.1 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 37 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 37 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thimphu Towers
Hotel Thimphu Towers
#1 of 37 in Thimphu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Peaceful Resort
Peaceful Resort
#15 of 37 in Thimphu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Druk Hotel Thimphu
Druk Hotel Thimphu
#8 of 37 in Thimphu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
15.0 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisa Hotel

Property: Kisa Hotel
Address: Chang Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Thimphu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kisa Hotel has recently been taken over and is Managed by Himalayan Hotels and Lodges- a hotel management company from the Kingdom of Bhutan. All amenities have been upgraded and services improved by a dedicated team of professionals that cater to the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kisa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing