We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
20
35
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
35
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious rooms big balcony group tour convenient location spent nights beautiful hotel post office recommend this hotel the main street short walk buffet dinner market area food quality courteous staff enjoyed our stay barking dogs place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 57 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018

The suite rooms are huge and the lay out is that of two normal rooms which are in its self too large. There are very less amenities in the hotel. Staff is excellent and willing to help out of there way. They still charge 3% extra if you pay by credit card. Very less choice of food. Breakfast is horrible. The location however takes on the above head on, everything is at a stones throw and a 3 KM walk will give you access to 50% of local sightseeing.

Room tip: You need not opt for suites or one room apartment, My suggestion normal rooms are better and cosier.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelThimphu, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Dear Rahul,

Thank you for your review on City Hotel Thimphu. As with all our guest who have stayed with us, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel which has made your trip to Thimphu convenient. We do agree that our suite rooms are very large, our deluxe rooms itself are much larger than most hotels in Thimphu. On the choice of food and breakfast we have taken note of your comments and will discuss with our culinary team on how we can improve on it. Thank you and we hope you will be able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

During May 2018 I stayed for 5 days in City Hotel, Thimphu, Bhutan on an official trip. City Hotel is relatively new( less than 2 year old), categorised as 3 star. The location is near the Farmers' Market, near to the river, a little congested. The rooms are Deluxe, Super deluxe and Suites. The deluxe rooms are very spacious, furniture, fixtures are very good. The hotel has underground parking space for 10 cars, so people who may drive up to Thimphu would have no problem parking their cars.Gym, salon etc are yet to start.
They kitchen in the hotel has somewhat limited ability. you may not get all items on the menu in the dining hall, and the items served may not be prepared the way you are used to. Since there are lots of excellent eating places in Thimphu,it may not be a major issue.
Overall a very good place to stay in Thimphu

Room tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floor would have better views
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prasad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelThimphu, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Dear Sir
Thank you for your review on City Hotel Thimphu, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be able to visit us again
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

I travelled to Bhutan in April and being the busy season, couldn’t get any good places to stay in Paro. Hence had to settle down staying at Thimpu and chose to stay at city hotel. Having stayed there am happy I made that choice. Thimpu is a beautiful place to be explored if you are visiting Bhutan and city hotel is at the centre of all the attractions you need to cover. It’s at arm’s distance from the famous post office, handicraft museum, flea market, Thimphu palace and Thimphu dzong! And the hotel room is neat and very spacious. Felt at home staying there!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank arpithah2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelThimphu, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Dear Arpitha
Thank you for your feedback on City Hotel Thimphu and we are very happy to know that the central location of our hotel has made your trip to Thimphu very convienent and you enjoyed our spacious room and feel at home service. Thank you and we hope you will be able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

Visited Bhutan May 2018. Stayed in city hotel, Thimpu. The hotel has 5 storeys and has a lift too.
Location- located in the middle of the city. Near to market place.Though located near market, the place is quite quiet. One of the excursions- the football stadium is at walking distance.
Rooms: we booked 6 rooms. All the rooms are very spacious - 400-600 square feet(approx).
Wooden flooring. Heating facility was there but as the weather was pleasant enough, we didn’t turn it on. All rooms had TV, and WiFi with good speed.
Food: Good
Service: 500 ml potable bottled water was given free.(per person). Which was not enough. We found it very strange that they do not provide free drinking water !!! We had to give them empty bottles to refill!! The staff is cordial and caring. They used to refill our empty bottles with great enthusiasm.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Bhomiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelThimphu, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Dear Bhomiyan,

Greetings from City Hotel Thimphu. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed the central but quite location, courteous staff service, good food and spacious room at our hotel. Our aim is to provide 100% guest satisfaction and your positive feedback is a great motivation for us to keep performing better. Thank you and we hope you will be able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2nights - 10th and 11th May. Located at a very convenient location with good cafés, craft bazaars, local markets and some tourist places at walking distance, the city hotel is definitely value for money. The entire hotel set up - the lobby, the corridors, the rooms and the restaurant has an openness to it creating a positive, warm environment. Ask for a room with the balcony. That's room 202:)
Being Indian, I refused to touch any Indian food and I am glad for that. The chef is excellent. The food, both Bhutanese and Western is extremely good.
My first impression - I entered the restaurant as a happy guest was ending his stay. He was insisting on tipping the server. He tried for a long time but the girl very respectfully and pleasantly refuse to accept. Says a lot about the individual and the training. I think that is the USP - the staff is impeccable in their politeness and pleasantness. Later the girl served us for 2 days very pleasantly, making our food experience enjoyable. Her name is Penn. And I didn't dare to tip her. But wished her the very best silently.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Ashlesha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelThimphu, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

Dear Ashlesha

Greetings from City Hotel Thimphu

Thank you for your wonderful review on City Hotel and we are very happy to know that you had a excellent stay with us. Thank you for your detailed description of our location and hotel set up which will be very useful to our future travelers to understand us better. We really appreciate your compliments on our food and staff service and we have conveyed to Ms. Pema our FNB staff on your special mention of her service.
Thank you and we hope you will be able to visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews