We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice stay...”
Review of Taj Tashi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Tashi
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Thimphu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The rooms here might look opulent, but they are dirty. Ours had not been dusted in awhile; the floor needed sweeping, there were streaks on bathroom countertops and the mirrors. We did not complain... Our baggage was delivered to the wrong room, and we did not complain. We simply waited for a half hour. Which was quite long.
This hotel has certain issues that limit its success. One area is in the staff performance, which is strained.
At check-in, we heard the manager screaming and yelling at staff. While waiting in the lobby, we heard him berate his employees. When I had a problem that I brought to the front desk -- the manager un-necessarily raised his voice at me. Un-classy behavior on the part of this manager reaches the patrons. The guy who runs this establishment is rude and patronizing. I would even say that he was sexist.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Taj Tashi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We do apologise for the negative experience that you had during the course of your stay with us
Have taken note of your displeasure with certain aspects of your stay which have been addressed with the concerned departments
As for the negative experience you had wherein you experienced a manager scolding the associate,let me reiterate that it was an aberration only.We strongly belive and try to develop a culture whereby we could serve our guests as a team.
We do hope you will not hold this against us and do look forward to welcome you back very soon so that we could leave you with a different impression of our hotel and our associates

Thanks and Regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 745 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our time in Thimpu and staying at the Taj Tashi. The decor is interesting. The spa, while small, has excellent masseuses. I had one of the best massages ever! The food was very good however I don't recommend their local drink; it will take the enamel off your teeth.

The staff and service is some of the best in the world. Bhutan is a magical place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneMuntzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Taj Tashi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback for the hotel.
We are indeed pleased that you found our offerings to be amongst the best in the world.
This would only encourage our team members to keep trying harder to please our guests
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Thanks and Regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Expect everything you would when u visit a Taj hotel , even if it is situated in Thimpu -Bhutan.
Great hotel walking distance to the downtown area. World class service and food. We visited Bhutan with friends and opted for the Taj as we were quite certain it would be just like the other hotels of the group ,heated bathroom flooring was quite a pleasant surprise, Taj Tashi did the trick and we had an excellent stay in Thimpu.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zubin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Taj Tashi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback for the hotel.
We are indeed glad that we could match and deliver the expectations that you have when you stay at a Taj facility.
We realise that our guests have the same expectations of us whenever they travel.That is why we try and make each and every stay personalised and to cater to each person's individual requirement
We do hope to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and Regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went to the Taj Tashi to deliver a workshop - and this hotel delivered. The welcome at the front desk was warm and friendly(especially Benita - who was delightful), and the rooms are simply breathtaking. The room has a great view and the furnishings and amenities are quite elaborate. While you don't come to Bhutan to stay in a room, the Taj Tashi makes it quite tempting just to lounge on the sofa and stare at the surroundings through the window.

Location: Ideal - you can walk to the craft bazaar and the royal textile museum easily

Conference: Everything went without a hitch(wifi was pretty good in the morning and the vendors had all of the necessary equipment - screen, projector, microphones). Sowan made sure every detail was attended to and it was a successful day. Catering for the conference was also well executed.

Food was good(although be prepared as Bhutan cuisine can be quite spicy(read:atomic) - the breakfast buffet is generous and has a bit of everything. The laundry service is very efficient. And if you have time - go to the heated pool - its wonderful!

Fully Recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC-IMF-FAOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Taj Tashi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback for the hotel.
We are indeed glad that we could make your stay with us very memorable.
Thank you for a generous mention of the conference facilities too.
Being in the heart of town and having a conference hall that can accomodate upto 200 people,we try and meet up the needs and requirements of different sets of clientelle.
We do look forward to welcome you back again very soon

Thanks and Regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Taj Tashi is a very nice property and is in a very good central location. You can find many huts selling local handicraft just outside the hotel and the main street in Thimphu is only a two minutes walk away.
We were greeted with a blessing ceremony by the local Monk; in that same evening they offered to supply us with their traditional attire (Gho and Kira) for us to wear whilst enjoying Bhutanese dance and music performed in the hotel’s courtyard by the open fire.
A special mention to Yuden, who was very friendly, efficient and attentive throughout our stay making sure we were enjoying our time at the Taj Tashi. On our last night she also arranged a private romantic dinner in the fifth floor duplex suite, which we enjoyed very much. We are very thankful for her hard work.
All the staff throughout the hotel was very friendly and efficient, they always referred to us by our surname when asking if we were satisfied and if there was anything more that they could do for us. We had a very special and personalized service during our stay. It is worth mentioning Bhim that always anticipated our needs and was friendly, courteous and efficient during our meals.
Our Deluxe Suite was enormous with a study and two different sitting areas in one side and a massive bedroom and bathroom on the other side. The rain shower was powerful and our suite was kept spotless throughout our stay.
The breakfast buffet was very good, catering for both Asian and Western tastes. Their restaurants also offered a wide choice of cuisines; our dietary needs were easily accommodated.
We stayed 3 nights at the Taj Tashi in Thimphu and 3 nights at the Uma by Como in Paro. Big mistake, we wished we had stayed 6 nights at the Taj Tashi instead and visited Paro in two day trips as it is only one hour drive away in a very good and scenic road; also Thimphu has much more to offer than Paro. On top of that, Taj Tashi is a real five star property whilst Uma by Como in Paro falls very short of this. If you enjoy real luxury accommodation and service, do yourself a favor and stay at the Taj Tashi only, you won’t regret this choice. Well, don’t take our word for it, but during our stay at the Taj Tashi we had a member of the Bhutanese royal family around, the Prime Minister of Bhutan coming for dinner and a full delegation of top diplomats from India staying at the hotel...and that speaks volumes!
We would definitely recommend to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suites are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Taj Tashi, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the huge amount of appreciation that you have showered upon us.
This will indeed motivate our associates to keep doing the great work that do day after day.
We are glad that we could personlise your vacation to the extent that the memory stays on with you for very long.
As you rightly put forth,we often do have higher members of the society coming to experience our hospitality very often and it is our prestige to be able to be of service to them
We do look forward to welcome you back whenever you plan your next visit to Bhutan.
We do hope that you will also spread the good word to your friends and near ones

Thanks and Regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overall a large, plush hotel in Bhutan's capital with large, spacious rooms. Fortunately the hotel supplies suitable power point adaptors but you've got to wonder why install Indian power points rather than more common Euro plugs in the first place even if it is an Indian hotel group. Can't explain the French labelling on the taps :-) Nice selection of food at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Taj Tashi, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback for the hotel.
We are glad that you found the standards of the hotel meeting your expectation
Thank you also for a special mention of the breakfast.We are glad you enjoyed the spread.
We do look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and Regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Sometimes when you travel to a city and there are a limited number of hotels, the hotels you find are not that great in that there is little to no competition. It has been my experience that often the attitude of the hotel is "take it or leave it"..... this is not the case at the Taj Tashi. This hotel could compete and do rather nicely in any number of cities. It is well maintained.... remember where you are however in that there is a limit as to what they can do given what is available to them. The lobby area is inviting as is the dining facility and grounds. I used the fitness center and it was well equipped. I did not use the pool. The staff goes out of their way to be of assistance. If you find you are going to be in Thimphu, Bhutan, do your self a favor and book to stay at this hotel. It is also well situated to walk around town and enjoy some of the local color.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Taj Tashi, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such lovely feedback.We are indeed glad that you had a fabulous stay with us which encouraged you to write such beautiful feedback
As you rightly mentioned,despite the size of the hotel,we try and personalise the experience for each and every guest to the extent possible because we do undertand the value of vacations in today's fast paced life.
Thank you also for the praise that you have showered upon the team members and the facility
We do look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and Regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thimphu
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#3 of 39 in Thimphu
258 reviews
3.5 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
COMO Uma Paro
COMO Uma Paro
#1 of 16 in Paro
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 39 in Thimphu
344 reviews
13.3 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Osel
Osel
#8 of 39 in Thimphu
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Tashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Tashi

Address: Samten Lam | Post Box No. 524, Thimphu, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Thimphu
Price Range: $381 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Tashi 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Tashi, perfectly located in the heart of the capital city of Bhutan, enjoys panoramic views of the mountain valley. The hotel is designed in traditional Bhutanese architectural style and hand-embellished by master craftsmen. The 66 rooms offer guests a magnificent blend of tradition and modernity with their resplendent grandeur and contemporary luxury. The restaurants and bar present a choice of regional delicacies and beverages as well as Continental and Asian specialities in elegant indoor and outdoor settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taj Tashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Tashi Thimphu
Taj Tashi Hotel Thimphu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing