We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Thimphu”
Review of Taj Tashi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Tashi
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Thimphu”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Although I am not going to go overboard on this hotel, it is a good hotel, but I think it was probably the least good place we stayed in in Bhutan. It is a Taj hotel so you would expect it to be good. I have stayed in a number of Taj places over the years and although the Tashi was nice it was not fabulous! We had a good room and a lovely bathroom, the laundry was done to the usual Taj high standard and the two restaurants were good, but it did lack something! Maybe it was because we were jet-lagged, maybe it is because we subsequently stayed in Amankora Hotels which were spectacular, but the Tashi was not a hotel which made me desperate to go back. The wireless internet in the rooms is so slow it is barely worth bothering. It is chargeable on the standard Taj Hotel tariff. Don't bother! THe two restaurants were good but employed a rather odd (??Fraudulent) charging policy. We were on a full board package but the restaurant got us to sign a bill on which the food price had been inflated by 50%. THe staff said not to bother about it because we were not paying, this was for the Travel Agency. THis may be the case but it didn't seem at all right, and we could see that the Swiss couple at the next table were having the same mystified conversation with the waiters! Anyway, the Bhutanese meal was good but not excellent (compared with Amankora & Uma Paro), but the Indian meal we had in the other restaurant was excellent. Very good breakfast, and outstanding coffee! Overall a good hotel, but not excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    167
    40
    9
    8
See reviews for
162
241
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Keeping up to taj standards , the service is superb , very very courteous staff.
The room was really neat and well taken care of.we took their package in which they also offered site seeing , shud mention their guide ghasy and driver amber in specific , they both were excellent. Overall experience was very nice

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NandiniHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Excellent location,great hotel and terrific service.
We stayed there for 3 nights and took day trips to Punakha and Wangdue.
We tried breakfast ,lunch and dinner and it was all very delicious.
We were in Thimpu on the day of their annual festival and we found it very convenient to get to the festival grounds from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

this hotel was a pleasant surprise-the rooms,food and service was outstanding.
the hotel is well located in the centre of town.
we did stay a night in the Aman timphu too which was disappointing in value compared to the Taj.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altravelindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Taj Tashi is a classy international style hotel. The rooms were quite comfortable, were large and had AC. Note that while this hotel is VERY expensive, the actually charge for WIFI. On the plus side, the WIFI works well.

The hotel has an excellent swimming pool, health club and SPA. The pool and gym are free for guests. The hotel is right in the middle of Thimphu, you can walk anywhere.

Breakfast and dinner were good. While the restaurant staff were very friendly and kept trying to ask us how we liked our meal, etc, the actually quality of service was not what one would expect. Not a major deal as everyone was so nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpal32489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

When you opt for Taj you know what you are signing up for and Taj Tashi lived up to my expectations.

As always the staff was courteous and extremely helpful. They were ready to go beyond their call of duty to make sure that we were well taken care of.

We selected Taj Tashi to spend an evening on a special ocassion with dinner. We were greeted and received very warmly by the staff. The manager in charge took us around to show the property and also the choice of restaurants and explain what they had to offer. We opted for the local cuisine in their restaurant Chig-ja-gye. We could also watch the cultural performance by local artists in the evening. It was a very pleasant and special experience.

The restaurant offered authentic Bhutanese dishes. Some of it I could not find in any other restaurants in Bhutan during my 10 day stay in Bhutan. The lady who attended to us spent a lot of time explaining what each dish was. We also got some insight into how the life was like in Timphu. They made sure that we were treated extremely well and made to feel special with their service. At the end they had a little surprise for us from the Chef.

The hotel is built in traditional Bhutanese architecture and majestically stood out in the heart of the city. Its one of the best looking private buildings in the city.

I would recommend Taj Tashi without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InsaneNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great loaction- straight out the door to shopping and local sites. Great rooms- well thought out and housekeeping staff that really care! You feel like you are truly in Bhutan but have all the comforts of home- what a great combination. Good food- a little slow in the dining room with coffee in the morning. When you leave your room ans lock it all the electricity goes out so it is hard to charge your cell, computer etc. The desk will give you a card to alleviate the problem. The gym has top rate equipment, the spa is serene. Unfortunately, it is hard to enjoy the lovely pool's large windows which overlook the beautiful green mountains beyond- there are lots of screaming kids.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thimphu
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 36 in Thimphu
238 reviews
3.5 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
14.5 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osel
Osel
#7 of 36 in Thimphu
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Tashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Tashi

Property: Taj Tashi
Address: Samten Lam | Post Box No. 524, Thimphu, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thimphu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Tashi 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Tashi, perfectly located in the heart of the capital city of Bhutan, enjoys panoramic views of the mountain valley. The hotel is designed in traditional Bhutanese architectural style and hand-embellished by master craftsmen. The 66 rooms offer guests a magnificent blend of tradition and modernity with their resplendent grandeur and contemporary luxury. The restaurants and bar present a choice of regional delicacies and beverages as well as Continental and Asian specialities in elegant indoor and outdoor settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, BhutanBookings, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Tashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Tashi Thimphu
Taj Tashi Hotel Thimphu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing