We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet, so genuine, so beautiful”
Review of Phobjikha Valley

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So quiet, so genuine, so beautiful”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Very remote, but a real out of this world experience. Great walks, very quiet, stunning black neck crane and Gangtey Goma temple. I hope to go back soon...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful Phobjika Valley”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is probably the most beautiful valley we saw in Bhutan. We walked from the Monastery through a village into a forest and then out onto an observation point where the entire valley opened before our eyes.We were too early for the cranes which was a shame but eh valley itself is not to be missed. The walk itself is easy except for the last few hundred yards which are over a marshy area but even the elderly members of our group had no group had no real problems negotiating the marsh. This is a truly enchanting valley not to be missed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful valley!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We visited Phobjikha valley early November and it sure was one of the most beautiful places we have seen while traveling in Bhutan. We loved the wonderful walk thought the forest, just the day before we got to the valley some 30 Black Necked Cranes flew from Siberia and many more the day after. We stayed overnight at in the Gakiling Guest House, very basic and in need of some serious plumming repares.There are deffinetely better guest houses in the valley than the one we stayed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The most beautiful part of Bhutan I saw.”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Fabulous valley with an amazing Gangtey Gompa, great Farmstays, the Black Necked Crane information center as well as several nature trails.

A must visit on your trip to Bhutan. Watch out for the yaks along the route.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank iftekharahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, accomodation options limited”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Unlike some of the other valleys in Bhutan, this one is wide and at a higher altitude, making it much cooler than Wangdi and Punakha. We enjoyed the shasila nature trail, a 5 - 6 hour walk that takes you out of the valley and down to the road to Wangdi (long challenging downhill stretch - hard on the knees!). Shorter nature walks in the valley, which is a scenic alternative to visiting Bumthang if you have limited time. Be ready for muddy walking shoes. Accommodation may be of a standard well below what you have experienced elsewhere in Bhutan. Ask your tour company for specific information to ensure you know what to expect. (There is one nice place - the Dewachen, which apparently gets booked out quickly. Plus one luxury place if you have the budget for it!)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank melscottmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phobjikha Valley also viewed

Ha, Haa District
Trongsa, Trongsa District
 
Punakha, Punakha District
 

Been to Phobjikha Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing