We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lusaka Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lusaka Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
UAE
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Its OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights here during transits. Its location is good in with close proximity to town. The menu was pretty good and they can organize travel or provide information for you if you want to go anywhere. remember it is a backpacker joint so it is not going to be 1st class. Some of the people there will be noisy but that is why it costs so little.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    45
    12
    10
See reviews for
4
49
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyangugu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

It depends on what you are going for - if you like noisy bar that goes on till late then this is for you, if you don't... Nena's Guest House further down is much quieter. The staff at Lusaka Backpacker at lovely and very helpful, its just the evening/night-time noise that is bad. Food was good - taste, value and portion size

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

My friends and I read fairly good reviews for this place in our guide book but when we showed up, we realized it was NOT the place for us. We're in our late 20s, early 30s and the crowd here was very young. We pulled up in the taxi, took a quick peek, and then pulled right back out again to a different hotel. If you're young and like to party, this place is for you (I would've loved it 8 years ago!). Just a bit too much for me now....

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesdnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Lusaka Backpackers, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi, we're sorry you didn't actually stay with us!

We know the bar can be noisy and that sometimes this affects one of the dorms however the double rooms are all behind our main building in the gardens a long way from the bar. We really like that our bar is a fun place to meet fellow travelers and Zambians. I guess that at the moment you drove in there must have been some younger guests chatting in the bar area, sorry that them being 8 years younger than you put you off! We think mixing with different people is what backpacking is all about. But we hope next time you are in Lusaka you will pop in again, you are never to old!!!! And, thanks for the feed back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here on two different occasions (not even on the weekends), and it was REALLY noisy both times which made it difficult to sleep. The signs say that they close the bar at 11 or so, but they keep it open til people stop drinking. Even after we complained about the noise at 2 in the morning, the staff failed to shut the bar down. We tried a double room, and we tried a dorm room - both with the same result. The dorm room was also not so great because the doors would not close without locking them (which we couldn't do because our roommates stayed out late and were ultimately MIA), and so cats came in during the night and slept in the room. While the food was delicious, I also saw cockroaches in kitchen's bread. On the positive, it seems like a good place to meet people and the staff were nice and helpful regarding onward travel plans. Take notes from Jollyboys, Lusaka Backpackers, and close your bar earlier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lusaka hotels

worldwide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed in the triple room out the back and the dorm at the front. Every night we were awoken by noise (one night an almighty row taking place by locals made us very scared). It wasn't possible to lock the dorm room, which was alarming because someone had their mp3 player stolen. The food was good (if a little slow service) and the location is similar to most backpackers in Lusaka. The staff were generally friendly and helpful, apart from the owner/manager who was extremely rude to me and made me feel so unwelcome that I left at noon on the 3rd day of a 7 day stay.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main building are noisy at night because right next to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed once in a dorm and once in a double room.
Bouth rooms were very noisy, since they are very close to the bar and the
windows almost didn't close...
The staff is very very friendly!
The pool is small but nice to chill out.
We have eaten there sometimes, and sometimes its very nice,
and one time a had a barely baked beef in my burger. wich i didn't eat.
It's the best place to stay if you are young and you need to stay in Lusaka.
but be aware of the noise at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPin004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed in the dorm here for 3 nights. There were 4 beds in a very small space. The mosquito nets were the tent kind that drape over your face, so you're almost better off without them. The setting is nice because it's quiet, there's a nice bar and a pool about the size of a bucket. The value is good and the staff are helpful. Good place to meet people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandersnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
4.0 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusaka Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusaka Backpackers

Property: Lusaka Backpackers
Address: 161 Mulombwa Close, Lusaka 31300, Zambia (Formerly Chachacha Backpackers)
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lusaka Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of city Lusaka backpackers is a great place to stop and relax from your travels. Evenings are always fun at The Cha bar and a hearty breakfast from the cafe will leave you feeling revived for your onward journey. We've got all the facilities you'd expect from a quality backpackers in Zambia, including a great pool, travel desk to book your trips and safaris, self catering kitchen, internet access, and a fantastic bar to meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lusaka Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusaka Backpackers Hotel Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing