We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous surprise”
Review of Lilayi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lilayi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My previous visit to Lilayi was many years ago. Whilst pleasant enough it was clear the lodge required some serious renovation's.

In October this year (2013) I went again using Lilayi for overnight accommodation whilst journeying back from Livingstone to Luanshya.

What a wonderful surprise. Clearly, massive renovations had been done and the lodge is now an absolute credit to the owners/managers.

If I had one slight criticism it would be that the service is a little slow. That said, those of us who live in the wonderful continent are aware that not a lot happens quickly here.

I most definitely will choose Lilayi Lodge again when I need to "escape" for some battery re-charging.

Well done,
Wendy H
Luanshya Zambia

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your feedback. Your comments have been passed on to our team as part of our ongoing training process. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Lilayi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

An easy escape from dust, noise and hubbub of the city: beautiful decor and surroundings, great food and wine cellar, attentive staff. A super place for business meetings too. The High Tea is not to be missed, and you will find yourself staying for cocktails to see the animals come down to the water. Must fit in a trip to see the baby elephants next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I spent the most wonderful afternoon at Lilayi. Myself and friends went for lunch. The food was the best I have tasted in Zambia and the wine was of a high quality but not over priced. The service from the staff was immaculate. We were so relaxed lunch rolled into a whole afternoon taking in the beautiful surrounding ending our trip with sundowners on the terrace watching the baby warthog strolling around. Good value, quality service and delicious food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freebs_Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review. We have had a lot more new wildlife give birth since you visited us. Young wildebeest, plenty of antelope and even more warthogs to munch away at our lawns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Arrived late afternoon planning to stay one night but stayed for 2. Delightful accommodation which has recently been upgraded, rooms attractive & well planned & each with a feature to watch from your terrace. Food excellent, probably the best on our 3 week trip thro Africa. Great to sit out in the evening enjoying a drink as the game grazed the grass below.

Room Tip: Used 2 rooms both as good as each other
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbieRuralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. High praise for our chef. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Lilayi for one night at the beginning of November and we loved every minute of it.

The greeting at the main gate was warm and welcoming and what a treat to only be a few meters into the resort and already find animals. We arrived at reception to meet another friendly gentleman who checked us in and assisted us with our bag, all the way to our chalet. Our chalet was comfortable, clean and very tastefully decorated. The bathroom was well appointed and the bath, big enough for two! There is so much attention to detail, from finishings to the art, it's evident, a lot of thought, effort and care went into the building and design.

After briefly settling into our chalet we decided to explore (since we're not fond of watching TV when we're on holiday!). Just outside the restaurant/bar area is a gorgeous swimming pool that looked extremely inviting, but on this occasion, we left our swimming costumes. So we walked around the grass area, just below the chalets and saw some animals grazing nearby and then opted for a G&T, since we couldn't find anything else to do. After our G&T and some tappas, we had to escape the afternoon heat and retreat to our chalet for a nap, until it was time for our sunset game drive.

On our drive, we learnt a lot more about the resort and we were treated to some amazing game. Giraffe, wildebeest, zebra, warthog and various buck all allowed us fairly close, so we were able to take some great photo's.

After our drive, we had just enough time to get ready for dinner. A quick soak in our huge bath and a change of clothes and we were off to enjoy a sumptuous meal. We were seated by the sommelier who offered some advice on our wine selection, which he got spot on! We decided to go all out! I had duck breast, Puku (a local buck) leg and a creme brûlée, whilst hubby had salmon, lamb tagine and chocolate lasagna. Overall, the food was amazing! Well prepared, creatively plated and extremely tasty. We vowed to be back!

The next morning we headed for breakfast. Breakfast is a la carte, which we don't mind but since we felt like a croissant before our main breakfast, we asked if we could order that separately to our egg's benedict. The waiter kindly obliged and soon we each had a cup of coffee and a warm croissant whilst watching nature wake-up. A short wait until we were served our egg's benedict. This was a tad disappointing, since I was expecting a traditional egg's benedict but unfortunately the only aspect of this that was close to a true benedict was the poached egg. It was however very tasty and we certainly enjoyed it!

We then headed back to pack our bags, settled up and get ready for our last game drive. We pretty much saw the same wildlife and travelled pretty much the same route, which was disappointing, but a game drive is always fun and being outside in such great weather is a treat! So although it was slightly repetitive, the outing was still enjoyable.

Upon returning to the hotel, we had just enough time to head back up to the main gate to watch the baby elephant's at the elephant orphanage. This viewing opens at 11:30 with the elephants arriving at 11:45. Beforehand, one of the volunteers briefly explain what the orphanage is all about and introduce us to the various babies. The viewing deck was packed so unfortunately we couldn't see very well, but the odd glimpse we caught was amazing. The babies came running into the enclosure and headed straight for their milk bottles (which they gobbled down in seconds) and then headed for the mud bath which was quite entertaining!

And then, it was time to head home…

Overall, this was a wonderful experience and we certainly enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, there wasn't a lot to do (I wish I took my book!), but that's what holiday's, vacations and breaks away from the routine are supposed to be about; doing nothing! The food was great and Lilayi is definitely an oasis just outside the city.

If you wish to see the elephant orphanage, ensure you arrive by at least 11:20 so you're guaranteed of a good viewing spot and have you're camera's ready, the babies are very cute and entertaining. Also have some cash ready to donate (and be generous!) to Game Rangers International, who manage this orphanage.

Thank you to all the extremely friendly staff, we will definitely see you all soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0r1d_Tv1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. We try and keep our guests busy with bush walks and game drives. We also have an upstairs games area with a modest library and we offer croquet. Admittedly the most popular is our in-house DNA (do nothing at all). We'll make sure our guests are advised of the additional activities at check in.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently spent a night at Lilayi Lodge, having heard lots about it. We were not disappointed. Lovely rooms, so well appointed and delicious meal, The surroundings are beautiful and one can sit and have your drinks whilst the game wonders around on the lawns.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35maryroseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked into here on two separate occasions in October 2013. On both occasions we found the staff relaxed and professional, the chalets clean and well equipped and the pool refreshing and clean. Breakfast was a good choice of substantial meals which meant you really didn't need to eat again until dinner.... In the evening its clear the Head Chef and his staff enjoy their work - the menu was inventive with a great selection of Venison dish's and other meats together with fish and vegetarian options all typically local. Wine list is predominately South African with some classy and expensive choices. However we selected the standard 'house' options and found them perfectly acceptable and vastly better than a lot of other house wines offered by similar hotels. The management team are splendid and a credit to the human race - one of our group had succumbed to a hidden unidentified spider bite which could have been very serious, one of the two owners contacted a member of staff who was in town and procured over the counter a prescription of relevant and suitable antibiotics which saved the day - I cannot think of another establishment that would go the distance in these circumstances.. Late afternoon whilst enjoying a few sundowners one can enjoy visits from various wildlife like Zebra and Warthogs together with deer and Monkeys. All in all a great place to stay for a few days to relax.

Room Tip: All Rooms are great
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemesis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope that we'll get to see you back in Zambia soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
7.4 mi away
Latitude 15
Latitude 15
#4 of 32 in Lusaka
120 reviews
8.9 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 32 in Lusaka
671 reviews
10.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
8.8 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 32 in Lusaka
397 reviews
4.7 mi away
Twangale Park Lodge
Twangale Park Lodge
#28 of 32 in Lusaka
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilayi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilayi Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 30093 | Lilayi Road, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range: $328 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lilayi Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilayi is an exquisite game lodge 30minutes from the centre of Lusaka. Set in 650hectares of game rich grounds boasting classic elegance and fine dining. Lilayi offers our guests the luxury of a safari lodge only 30 minutes from the centre of Lusaka. 12 Chalets are designed with a modern elegance and each provide a verandah view of the game that pass throughout the day. Relax and enjoy the wildebeest, giraffe, zebra and more than 20 species of antelope. The restaurant offers an African fusion cuisine that, coupled with our extensive wine collection, will delight any palate. Take an early morning guided nature walk, relax on a sunset game drive, make use of our running and walking trails, take a village tour or enjoy the elephant orphanage project at feeding time. Whatever your preference Lilayi makes a great venue for events, executive meetings or as an unforgettable holiday destination. New exclusive package now available that includes a walk in the bush with our orphaned baby elephants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lilayi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing