We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - but don't go for cheap rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lusaka
Bålsta
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - but don't go for cheap rooms.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Arriving by motorbike from Livingstone the hotel was easy to find. The bikes were safely parked in a locked garage (at no extra cost). Staff was friendly and helpful - each and everyone.
We had booked "standard rooms" which were large and well equipped. The necessary A/C worked well and gave us some well deserved rest before our trip to Kariba the next day.
The bar (and barman) gave us a pleasant time before dinner.
Food was acceptable (goes also for breakfast), but not more.
Should we visit Lusaka again I'd definitely try to get a booking in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors to avoid noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Claes,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Cairo Road and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
10
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Management photos make this look like a brand new stylish hotel on Sukhumvit in Bangkok. Which this Protea most definitely isn't. Small, dated rooms, cheap old windows block no street noise. Shortage of central downtown hotel rooms for business travel lets them get away with high rates for lousy hostelry. Professionally trained staff, yet still so slow to get checked in and out and a real cover your backside attitude and no answers to anything. Despite all, would have just chalked it up to a typical ex-British African country hotel experience until an insect ran across my breakfast dish. Was going to tell staff about it until I saw they already knew. (see photo). Departed after one night for a local hotel a block up the street for a qualitatively better experience at half the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Cairo Road is usually proud to offer.

We are extremely concerned with the issues you raised and would appreciate additional feedback so that we can investigate your comments with the relevant management and STAFF. Please could you contact me directly on marketing@proteahotels.co.zm and I would be more than happy to get in touch with you via telephone.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lusaka hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel services very basic, ie no gym and very limited in-house menu. Rooms reasonably comfortable and a good size. Bathrooms have old decor but clean enough. Front staff and restaurant staff very warm and friendly. Wi-fi worked well.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor - as more private from street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissLoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road.

We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were warm and friendly. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly valuable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Cairo Road and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having stayed with Protea hotels several times across Africa this one was disappointing. The access is difficult, front desk service confused and unfriendly. The room was very small and the en-suite bathroom was tiny! The meal was okay but service non-attentive. The biggest complaint was that after going to bed exhausted after an 8 hour drive we were disturbed three times: once when reception phoned to ask what time we had checked in, again when someone knocked on our door to queried a bar account for another room, and then again when they returned to bang on the door to query another account again which was not ours! Overnight parking on the street not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are extremely concerned with your comments regarding the service and would appreciate more feedback in order for us to investigate the matter further. Kindly get in touch with me directly on my email address, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, so that we can rectify the problem areas which you have highlighted.

Your feedback will be imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong. Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

When I booked, under special requests I asked for a room in the back away from the street, and that cleanliness and quiet were my priorities. Thats what we got. In the morning, we were scheduled for a ride to the airport at the time they would be opening the breakfast buffet, I gave the front desk guy a 20kwacha note(about $4US) and asked for a fruit plate to go for my wife and I. Instead he brought us back and said they weren't ready yet, but to have whatever was on offer. That turned out to be plenty- fruit, hot tomatoes, potatoes, yoghurt, tea and coffee. I think there was even some sausage for the carnivores! Couldn't have been happier.
The arranged shuttle pickup from the Lusaka airport the day we arrived and the drop off the next morning were timely and safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Moab_Dave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at Protea Hotel Cairo Road is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay with us and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Of all the Hotels I have stayed in around Africa, the beds in the Cairo Rd Hotel have to be the worst. Some in Madagascar were bad, but they take the cake.

The first night in a twin room because of a busy hotel. I hardly slept because the bed was so hard, it felt like I had a board under the sheet as opposed to a mattress. I asked reception the next morning to either find me another bed or book me out and I would go to the other Protea.

They were accommodating and sorted out my move during the day. That night, in a new room, the bed was just as hard.

I have come to the conclusion it is called the Protea Cairo road, because the beds are the same as the road surface outside the front door. Hard and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Tip, book at the Protea Lusaka Arcades Hotel.......... or Radison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilotdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced as result of the bed. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was on a business trip and stayed for only 2 days here.

Pros:-
(1) Located at the heart of the city.
(2) Beautiful room and bathroom. They are pretty big too.
(3) Had a safe, to keep precious belonging inside the closet.
(4) Clean
(5) Has separate smoking and non-smoking rooms.
(7) Food is excellent, and the waiters are really welcoming.
(8) Overall, you will feel secure staying in this hotel.

Cons:-
(1) Due to its central location, it is very crowded. Especially when the office hours get over, the roads are completely choked.
(2) Receptionists are unfriendly.
(3) Room service is bad.
(4) The elevator does not work properly.
(5) No gym, no swimming pool.
(6) TV reception is bad. There are around 10 channels on the TV, only.

Value for money:-
7/10

Staff behavior:-
7/10

Overall:-
7/10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amrit207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are however concerned with the comments you made regarding the receptionists being unfriendly and would appreciate more feedback. Kindly email me directly on marketing@proteahotels.co.zm

Your interest and concern are therefore truly invaluable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 32 in Lusaka
658 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka
Protea Hotel Lusaka
#10 of 32 in Lusaka
204 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road

Property: Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Address: Cairo Road | Plot 11 A, Katondo Street, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cairo Road - Ideally located for business travel in the heart of Lusaka. Protea Hotel Cairo Road is located in Lusaka's central business district, only 30kms from the airport and close to the Arcades shopping and entertainment complex, Manda Hill Shopping Centre and National Museum. With spacious, air-conditioned and en-suite accommodation in all the rooms, business or corporate travellers will find Protea Hotel Cairo Road ideal for all requirements. The Restaurant serves breakfasts, lunch and dinner and the bar is open until 22h00 daily where you can enjoy pre-dinner drinks in a sociable and relaxed environment. Conference facilities comprise three 15-seater Boardrooms and 2 conference rooms, seating 40 delegates. Be entertained and explore the exciting sporting and leisure activities nearby; including a golf course (10km), game viewing (35km), restaurants and shops (5 - 7km), Munda Wanga Animal Sanctuary (10km) and Kalimba Reptile Farm (20km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing