We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee and Good Cake”

The Cake Bar & Patisserie
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Lusaka
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Cake Bar is the ideal place to get the day started with freshly brewed Zambian Arabica coffee, fresh juices, fresh croissants and a hearty breakfast! All while you read the morning papers/magazines and watch the news. We have a range of both local and international magazines and newspapers to keep your mind occupied. We also provide wireless internet and light meals and salads. Ideal place to have a quick business meeting over lunch, after which you can finish off with smoothies, milkshakes and our selection of cakes and Italian gelato. When you happen to find yourself this side of Lusaka, avoid the traffic and take a break with us. If you don't find yourself this side of Lusaka, then make sure you make a special trip just to experience what we have to offer :)
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I visited on 3 occasions during October 2013. Each time the coffee was very good and far far better than the majority of Lusaka coffee outlets. The cakes can be a little but hit and miss. Lovely ice cream as an alternative.

3  Thank Anamaria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCakeBarZambia, Owner at The Cake Bar & Patisserie, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello Anamaria C,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to have made such an impression on you. Yes, our coffee is excellent, and that is because it is freshly roasted and ground 100% Zambian Arabica made by our well trained and passionate baristas. Thank you for the compliment!

As for our cakes, we're trying to ensure they do not overstay in the display so that they cannot be considered a miss but rather a hit every single time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for The Cake Bar & Patisserie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 47 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by just after they opened whole driving through town and took 35minutes to get a flat white, which looked more like a cappuccino. Service is slow and below par and they managed to mix up the orders for the three of us. Waitress was more interested in responding to her phone than us.

Better using an order and collect system.

Coffee tastes good though

1  Thank Mutriaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCakeBarZambia, Owner at The Cake Bar & Patisserie, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Mutriaena,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you got the service that you got. We have shown this review to our waiting staff and all are extremely embarrassed that one of them have been marked so negatively. We have looked into it and hope to have you again so we get the opportunity to serve you the way you are meant to be served. We also apologize for the flat white looking like a cappuccino, something out of the ordinary from our well-trained, championship-experienced baristas. Have let them know too so they are more careful when making coffee drinks.

Thank you for your time once again to let us know where we can improve on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went specifically for the cake after reading reviews and left very disappointed. The cake is definitely over-rated. I decided never to go back and i haven't been since. Cake at mint lounge is better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChiChiSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCakeBarZambia, Owner at The Cake Bar & Patisserie, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello ChiChiSa,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Cake Bar. We are quite disappointed to hear that you were disappointed with our cakes. I can assure you that this was an exception, and after your review, we have tightened our quality control to make sure that cakes served are not kept longer than necessary so as to preserve the freshest possible taste. We invite you to come and try our cakes once more including new and improved varieties. We trust you'll love them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We had coffee and a waffle with Delicious ice cream. It was expensive (coffee costing 15kwa ($2.5)) but it was the nicest cup we found in Lusaka. They have an amazing looking menu if you can afford it! The decor is cool and the staff were very attentive.

1  Thank kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCakeBarZambia, Owner at The Cake Bar & Patisserie, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear kyle P,

Thank you for your review of The Cake Bar. We are delighted to hear about your positive experience at our cafe though we are sorry that you found the prices on the high side. We do try and find the right balance. We hope to have you again anyways and hopefully we can have products that are more suited to your budget.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Love the coffee and the warm setting of the restaurant. I would recommend it to all my family and friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thandeka Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCakeBarZambia, Owner at The Cake Bar & Patisserie, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Thandeka,

Thank you for your positive comment. We look forward to serving you more of our greatly under-rated world class Zambian coffee :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cake Bar & Patisserie also viewed

Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 

Been to The Cake Bar & Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing