We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars? Just about...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Lusaka
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lusaka
Reviewed October 28, 2005

The Intercontinental is a haven in Lusaka; but is not without its flaws. On the positive side, it has excellent restaurants (the buffet breakfast is the best I've eaten - or seen! - in quite some time), attentive reception staff, nice grounds, and reasonably comfortable rooms. Based on this, the business traveller can enjoy a short stay there with no difficulty; tourists, especialy those there for more than a short trip, could find fault with the noisy bar (especially on the dreadful karoke nights), the disinterested staff in the in-house shops, and the lack of genuine multi-channel TV.

In short, the Intercon is a pretty good 4- star hotel; it stands out in the restricted market of Lusaka, but that's about all.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gearoid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2005

Admittedly, there are very few fine hotel options in Lusaka. The Intercon is the well-worn war horse of the business and diplomatic set. While I had requested to have the hotel courtesy bus meet me at the airport, I was nervous about this as it was never confirmed. Luckily, the bus was there -- although the driver did not have my name. Another passenger and I waited nearly an hour for the bus to depart -- arriving at the hotel after 10pm -- never a good thing to be driving around at night in Zambia. While check-in went smoothly, on check-out the hotel would not accept acknowledge that my reservation was prepaid by my company. I ended up getting double billed on my personal card. The rooms have seen better days, and the place kind of reeks of burning garbage. There were guards positioned at the elevators and on each floor -- which made me feel more weird than protected. The bathrooms are small and it's really hard to stand in the tub/shower as it's very narrow. On the upside, the breakfast food and venue are quite nice and there is an excellent gym open 24 hours. The hotel is well located nearby most government buildings and embassies. Within the hotel complex, there are shops, including a hair salon. Internet access varied depending on the time of day.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank GlobalGirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank gsfischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Quality Officer at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiroyamamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
Thank Helmut F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank edahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.5 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lusaka
688 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#4 of 33 in Lusaka
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lusaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lusaka

Address: Haile Selassie Avenue | Po Box 32201, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range: $130 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Lusaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Lusaka is more than just a hotel, its a destination. Located in the embassy circle, five minutes walk to the Nigerian Embassy, The Indian Embassy, the Chinese Embassy, the Japanese Embassy and the Germany Embassy.Local and International corporate offices HLB, Barclays Bank, KPMG,DHL, MRI Syngenta and the Mulugushi International Conference center are within a few minutes drive from the hotel. Manda Hill and Arcades shopping malls are also in close proximity to the hotel. Services offered by the hotel include 9 meeting rooms, 224 bedrooms with suites and standard rooms. A business center, An exclusive Club InterContinental floor, A health club and tennis courts. An award winning Italian restaurant Rosso, An all-day dining restaurant overlooking a pool and gardens and a Cafe. The Hotel hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi to in-house guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lusaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Inter Continental Hotel Lusaka
Lusaka Inter-Continental
Inter-Continental Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing