We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Lusaka
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average for Intercontinental”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I got upgraded to a club room without even asking, that was a nice surprise. The rooms are Clean and average size. Bathrooms looked a but tired.

I met some business associates at the Safari bar, and even after sitting there for 20 minutes, no one came to offer us a drink, we had to ask. Soon after the drinks came, we decided to have dinner at the Italian restaurant, so we asked the waiter to move our drinks for us, which he did and came with the bill. I explained to him that we were going to have wine with dinner, but he insisted that I settle the bar bill because he wants to go home. The pasta that we ordered was so overboiled it was softer than baby food.

Get to breakfast early, once the bread runs out, there is no more.

If I would not use the bar or restaurant, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear AfricanHotelWarrior,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We are so sorry for the poor service you received from our Food & Beverage outlets. This is not the standard of service we aim to provide to our guests.

We have taken note of your comments and will be sure to address these matters to ensure this does not occur again to you or any of our guests

We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and I do hope you will give our restaurants another chance and have a much better meal experience.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, your feedback is very important to us as this vital information enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions required to stop these issues from occurring again.

We hope to see you again soon and that your next stay with us will be more pleasant.

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    185
    75
    19
    13
See reviews for
21
19
21
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed second week in May. Good staff, large gym, central location for business meetings. May be was a bit too excited after a so-so to poor experience in Intercon Nairobi just the previous week. Would stay again,.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kintu z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear kintu z,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we truly appreciate your comments.

We would be more than delighted to welcome you back soon to InterContinental Lusaka.

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Overall a good experience. The rooms are a little dated and the bathrooms could do with a revamp and a new shower. The service is excellent and friendly. The 'new' Italian food is very good. Overall a very good value for money spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJHowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear MJHowlett,

We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!

Your compliments are extremely motivating to our team and encourage us to continue to aim higher, especially with our new Italian restaurant, Rosso, which was recently awarded best restaurant in Lusaka by the Zambia International Travel Exhibition.

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to InterContinental Lusaka soon.

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The whole place needs a bit of a face-lift ; clean but very dated ! The Savannah restaurant has an outside seating terrace overlooking the pool area. The menu is good and the food acceptable. Courteous service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear nauj63,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience in our hotel.
We are pleased you had a pleasant lunch in our Savannah restaurant.

If you have another opportunity to dine with us again, please try our new Italian restaurant, Rosso, which was recently awarded the second best restaurant in Lusaka by the Zambia International Travel Exhibition.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Lusaka.

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Its a lovely hotel, nice staff, great breakfast, too many flies, nice rooms, big Tv. lovely location, can walk to Lusaka Downtown, its like 20 minutes walk, pretty safe city, nice bar too. Love the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Oneluis,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you “loved” the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your compliments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was here for a work trip for a little under a week and was very pleased with it. The pool is very nice, so is the gym and the restaurant. The rooms were also simple but very nice. My only complaint was that it's in a location where I didn't feel comfortable walking around alone off the hotel grounds. Otherwise I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrjj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Wrjj20,

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and that you were pleased with our facilities.

We regret that you did not feel safe to walk around alone off the hotel grounds. The hotel is situated in one of the safest areas in Lusaka in the diplomatic area where the majority of embassies are located. We have not heard of any negative activity regarding the surrounding area of the hotel.

If you have another opportunity to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact myself or a member of our Concierge team via the reception desk where we can discuss in more detail your concerns so you can feel more at ease on your next visit.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to InterContinental Lusaka soon.

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This was the first time that Id stayed at this particular hotel in Lusaka usually staying at other 5 star resorts, but having heard the service was so good here I tried it.

The rooms are a bit dated especially the bathrooms but the service is superb so friendly and helpful.

Thanks for such a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Vic1976,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Your compliments regarding the “superb” service you experienced are extremely motivating to our team!

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Lusaka.

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka
Protea Hotel Lusaka
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lusaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lusaka

Property: InterContinental Lusaka
Address: Haile Selassie Avenue | Po Box 32201, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#4 Business Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Lusaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Lusaka is the preferred destination for businesspeople as well as those who want a leisurely escape. Embassies and government buildings are just across the street and the main shopping and commercial districts are within a 10-minute drive. Of interest are the Lusaka Museum, Kabwata Cultural Village and Mundawanga Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Lusaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Inter Continental Hotel Lusaka
Lusaka Inter-Continental
Inter-Continental Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing