We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciate the service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Lusaka
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lusaka
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Appreciate the service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times and always appreciate the good service. The location is good, upkeep is fine (although some of the rooms could do with a slight renovation). The outside breakfast and lunch area is really nice, next to the pool.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sieyes,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your many stays at InterContinental Lusaka.

We appreciate your comments and we are very grateful for your continued loyalty with us.
I hope you are member of our InterContinental Hotels Loyalty Program and are enjoying the many benefits of being an IHG (InterContinental Hotel Group) Reward Member. If you are not a member, for your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact a member of our Guest Relations team who will be more than happy to enrol you so you can enjoy the benefits.

Again, thank you for your review; we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Lusaka.

Kind regards

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    186
    75
    19
    13
See reviews for
22
20
21
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
884 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 921 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A one night stay whilst passing through Lusaka on business.

Great service, and despite warnings that due to there only being two fibre optic cables into Zambia the wireless internet access was the fastest I encountered during the trip - significantly better and more reliable then the group hotel in Johannesburg!

We ate in the new Italian Restaurant and this was very good, with service one instinctively associates with the Intercon.

All in all another great stay

Room Tip: West wing is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Barry B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your recent stay at InterContinental Lusaka.

We appreciate your comments, particularly regarding our internet services as in the past we have had major challenges.

Your comments regarding our new Italian Restaurant, Rosso, is very motivating for our staff, as you mentioned this is a new restaurant and we are very pleased you enjoyed the food and that we met your expected standards.

Once again, thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Lusaka!

Kind regards,

Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I booked this hotel for a meeting and before the meeting we signed a contract. The hotel accommodation and food were very good. However they are greedy not to say when they have no rooms for conferences, the room they gave me for our meeting was a small suite, and I really felt offended because the people I took there were senior officials from the government. After inquiring about the possibility of getting another room, I was told the hotel is full meaning other conference rooms were occupied. I was so mad, because why did they accept business when they have no more conference rooms, at least they should have advised me the type of room they were going to offer. Also they overcharge people and up to now they have not given me a refund of the extra money they took from me. I have tried to call and write emails but they keep on saying we will refund since December 2013. I wish to warn people going to stay at this hotel to be careful and read carefully their bills. I AM SO DISAPPOINTED and if tripadvisor can do something so that I get refunded I will appreciate. I owe them US$ 380.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Upendo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, Assistant Quality Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Upendo L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay.

We are glad that you were pleased with the accommodation and the food served in our Food & Beverage outlets.

I am sorry to see that we failed to meet your Conference & Banqueting requirements. We have in the past hosted a number of meetings / conferences in our Business Suites and when we do host such meetings in the suites we usually communicate this option effectively to our guests and conduct a show round of the suite prior to the meeting. This should have been done in your case.

I would like to investigate this in more detail, particularly your claim for a refund, as if there is any money owing to you since December 2013 this refund should have been completed within 7- 10 working days and therefore I would like to ensure this is done immediately.

In addition I would like to investigate thoroughly into the communication process of the room hire for your conference. In order for me to do this, I will need to obtain additional details. Kindly contact me via email at guestrelations.iclusaka@ihg.com and please address your email to me, Lucy Mwananshiku, Assistant Quality Manager.

I hope to hear from you very soon.

Kind regards,
Lucy Mwananshiku
Assistant Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

stayed in lusaka for one night coming from livingstone,The hotel is located in embassies area, Room is clean and renoveted, Service is excellent, Very good italian restaurent, Pizza is soo delicous, bottom line & according to my opinion: the best hotel in the city ( see photos)

Room Tip: upgrade to Executive room, Very good executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YEHYA_MAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear YEHYA_MAYA,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review on-line!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the cleanliness of your guest room, customer service and our new Italian restaurant, Rosso. Comments like these are very encouraging to us and cause us to aim higher in terms of customer satisfaction.!

Again, thank you for your review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Michael Naber
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Overall this is a nice hotel, albeit a bit rundown with age. The staff tries to be friendly and helpful, although that is somewhat inconsistent. Below is the commentary on my recent stay submitted to Intercontinental Hotels Group. I think it says it all:

I made a reservation to stay at this hotel for 12 nights. After six nights, at 8 p.m. on a Sunday I was informed I had to move immediately because of an on-going construction project. Immediately? Really? This was discovered on Sunday night? I don't think so. When I complained to the GM, he was gracious and apologetic and moved me to the Club level. Good. But two days later, I was called at 7:30 p.m. to inform me that the construction project was now moving to the Club level and I had to either move again, or accept a "portable air conditioner." A portable air conditioner in the middle of Summer in Lusaka? Ridiculous. This should have never happened to begin with, when I made the original reservation. Then, SOMEONE SHOULD HAVE CHECKED before moving me to the Club level. IHC in Lusaka has shown itself to be inept as well as disdainful of its guests and their comfort. I just gave up and moved to the Taj Pamodzi, where the accomodations and service turned out to be outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Herb G,

Thank you for your candid review.

Yes, we are very familiar with your unpleasant experience with our hotel during your stay with us in December 2013.

I sincerely apologize for the lack of attention to you as individual guest and as a result the poor manner in which you had been managed during your stay.

The hotel has been experiencing great challenges with the effective operation of the guest room AC units and essential maintenance works needed to be carried out during that period.

This is by no means an excuse and we are very sorry to have lost you as a valued guest of the hotel.

We have learned from this unfortunate experience and have taken the necessary measures to ensure this unusual way of managing our guests will not occur again.

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Lusaka, however we ask for one last opportunity for you to stay with us again. We hope you will re-consider and come back to us.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Naber
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Hotel, their food is lovely, their staff members very friendly and helpful.
Service is very good, rooms need attention though.
Gymnasium beautiful, swimming pool very clean.
Lovely place to stay.
Well done.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear coen_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed yourselves particularly for such a special occasion as a wedding!

We appreciate your compliments regarding the hospitality of our staff, customer service and hotel facilities, your comments are very motivating for us!

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Lusaka and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards,

Michael Naber
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at the hotel during January. The hotel is very nice and as an ambassador I was upgraded on check-in. The room was big and clean, like other parts in the hotel. I also got treats in my room. My room was on the 7th floor and was on the furthers side of the hotel.
Breakfast was very good and had a large variety of different dishes; especially that one can squeeze his or hers own juice.
The hotel is 30 minutes from the airport and its location is minutes ride to the center.
The staff was very welcoming and nice. The Gym is big and has plenty of equipment.
You get a 24hr free Internet access. Unfortunately it works for only 1 device, but the connection was good and I could complete my work.
I enjoyed staying at this hotel and would defiantly stay again when I'm in Lusaka.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Oz999,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay at the InterContinental Lusaka.

Your comments regarding the breakfast served in our restaurant, the hospitality of our staff and Hotel facilities is most encouraging and I shall share this with our team.

With regards to our wireless internet access availability for more than one device, this service is very much available to all our guests staying with us; I do wish you had consulted a member of staff who could have assisted in directing you to a Guest Service Agent from our Business Center or our IT Manager.

Once again, thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Lusaka.

Kind regards,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 32 in Lusaka
644 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 32 in Lusaka
389 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka
Protea Hotel Lusaka
#10 of 32 in Lusaka
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lusaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lusaka

Property: InterContinental Lusaka
Address: Haile Selassie Avenue | Po Box 32201, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Lusaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Lusaka is more than just a hotel, its a destination. Located in the embassy circle, five minutes walk to the Nigerian Embassy, The Indian Embassy, the Chinese Embassy, the Japanese Embassy and the Germany Embassy.Local and International corporate offices HLB, Barclays Bank, KPMG,DHL, MRI Syngenta and the Mulugushi International Conference center are within a few minutes drive from the hotel. Manda Hill and Arcades shopping malls are also in close proximity to the hotel. Services offered by the hotel include 9 meeting rooms, 224 bedrooms with suites and standard rooms. A business center, An exclusive Club InterContinental floor, A health club and tennis courts. An award winning Italian restaurant Rosso, An all-day dining restaurant overlooking a pool and gardens and a Cafe. The Hotel hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi to in-house guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lusaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Inter Continental Hotel Lusaka
Lusaka Inter-Continental
Inter-Continental Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing