We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip Zambia” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Lusaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Lusaka
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Business Trip Zambia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice hotel location, not too far from the airport and easy to get around as close to the centre. Located in the Embassy district. Building looks dated and inside clean but to the normal Intercontinental standards I have seen elsewhere. Perhaps because it’s Africa.
Has only one bar which is fairly ok. Down side of the bar is the attraction start coming in from 5.30pm and don't badger you too much.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are ok but air-con is not. Rooms do not cool down quickly enough.
Garden is kept clean and pool is checked daily.
Food is clean and plentiful portions.
Real downside was the internet, really slow possibly at Dial-Up speed when I was using it. Tried different times of the day & night – still the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nazparmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear nazparmar,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the InterContinental Lusaka. We appreciate your comments.

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to the slow connection to our wireless Internet in your guest room. I understand how frustrating this can be. It is unfortunate that during the period that you had stayed with us, our Internet Service Provider had developed a fault with their fiber link which resulted in the slow internet connection that you had experienced, even though the damaged fiber link was beyond our control, this is by no means an excuse. We do realize the importance of internet connection to our guests and have recently increased our internet bandwidth from 9.0 MB pipe to 10-15 MB (depending on peak periods) to ensure better internet services.

We hope this inconvenience you experienced will not deter you from choosing to stay at InterContinental Lusaka in the future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    180
    71
    19
    13
See reviews for
18
19
21
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hosted a very large event at this hotel in July-August time frame. Over 300 guests were travelling through and this was our main hotel. Everything was fantastic, from the conference and room management to the flexibility and kindness of the staff. The facilities were very nice, always clean and kept up and the food was fantastic. I was lucky enough to work with the some of the staff, Barbara, Kareem, Quintin and Michael and I have to say that I was actually sad to leave they were really so accomodating!
The facilities, to include the gym and pool were all very nice and the quality of the equipment was definitely top notch. Numerous guests utilized those facilities and always had good things to say. The bar was accomodating for our rowdier participants and the lobby was always clean, welcoming and available for many of our participants to meet up and get event information. After 6 years of hosting this event many of the return participants said that the reception dinner, hosted out by the pool, complete with local dancers provided by the hotel, was the best they had attended.
The staff was very friendly and professional, always walking around checking on guests and any problems (we only had a few very small problems) were resolved quickly and with smiles. Barbara, Kareem and Quintin were a very good team to work with, no matter the situation, and had no problem jumping in to help resolve issues our staff had not dealt with before, including cultural questions. We experienced some issues with the Nairobi airport burning down but the hotel was quick to help accomodate those of our guests that were affected.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, for relaxation and for business. If I had any complaints it is that it is not near any stores or restaurants but that is really no problem as a taxi ride is quick and relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharlap31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear pharlap31,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your great stay at the InterContinental Lusaka.

We were absolutely delighted to read your wonderful comments regarding your overall stay! This is most encouraging to our team as it motivates us to aim higher in terms of guest satisfaction and delivery!

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Lusaka for your Accommodation, Conference & Banqueting needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed there for two nights during a business trip.
Overall I was satisfied by the stay, although I had constantly the feeling that something was missing from the standards of Intercon.

The building is rather old but the common areas are all very spacious and pleasant. Especially the exterior ones. Gardens, pool and Tennis courts are very good. The gym also was surprising big and complete.

The room was rather over used and can use some refurnishement however it was spacious and with all amenities and Intercon standards.

I was a bit disappointed by the quality of the food the first two days, although the last day it was suprisingly much better. Perhaps a new guy hoined in the crew.

Very good Quality of Internet and Coffee as well.
In addition, best scrambled eggs I have eaten in Africa, in the last two years.

Other than that I can't mention something important.
Prices rather high, as expected from Intercon and people very polite.

Anyway my stay was too short to notice anything more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtsint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear gtsint,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the InterContinental Lusaka.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding the hotel facilities, quality of coffee and most especially our internet! We have the largest bandwidth of any hotel in Lusaka and internet is now free of charge for all guests.

However, I am disappointed to hear that during the first two days of your stay the quality of food served did not meet your expectations, we are in the process of making a lot of changes with our new F&B offering and the reopening of the new restaurant.

We are also looking into refurbishing our guest rooms in the near future.

Despite these issues you experienced during your stay, we do hope this will not deter you from choosing InterContinental Lusaka and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was checked into a room that had had a smoker before and I had a cold. I stayed in there for two nights and on the third I couldn't take it. I had informed management before but they didn't do anything about it. But that evening I was given an upgrade to business room, for the next 3 nights.I must say that I loved the experience. Other than that, the gym facilities are great and so is the coffee! It was on the whole a rather pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get one with a great view of the green and the city. 5th floor going upwards facing the entrance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Tindi R,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your first two nights with us.

However, I am very pleased that you had a more pleasurable experience for your last three days.

We appreciate your comments regarding our health club facilities which has been a favorite for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Lusaka so you can enjoy more of our coffee!

Kind regards,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Except the queue at the restaurant for lunch, I don't see anything you could complain about, except maybe the speed of service sometimes. Very nice pool and gym, beautiful gardens. Perfect location, and reasonable prices for an intercont'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AB34000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear AB34000,

Thank you for your great review regarding you recent stay!

I apologize for the slow service you experienced. Our team are looking into this issue.

I do hope you will have another chance to stay with us again so you will be able to see a more positive difference in the speed of service

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Lusaka.

Kind regards,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I experienced a good stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful with information for sight seeing in the area. The hotel was clean and nice looking through out, including the fitness room, (the ladies sauna room was nice), the outside pool area is beautiful day or night. We enjoyed the Sunday brunch which included live music. We also were pleased with the hair salon, laundry service...room service was a little slow and food not as good as going to the restaurant. The noise from outside made it difficult for me to sleep at times...but not my husband.
The manager, Hiren, was friendly and attentive to our stay and comfort. We will use this hotel again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Angel D,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your great stay at the InterContinental Lusaka,

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding our hotel facilities and the hospitality of our staff. This is extremely encouraging to our team as we aim to improve our standards of guest service.

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the slow room service and noise from outside the hotel. Our team has been addressed on the issues of Room Service.

I do wish you had informed a member of our team regarding the noise outside your room so that this could be addressed, ensuring a more pleasant stay.

Once again thank you for your wonderful review, this is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Lusaka.

Kind regards,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here two times, first for a layover and later for a week. The place is ok, the staff is helpful and does their best. But the front desk and the consierge need a serious wake up slap. The people at the front desk seem more interested in looking at their computers in stead of helping people and the consierge made me want to cry. No "to do" packages and when asked about how to get places the answer was always "just take a taxi and go find out", amazingly irritating. On the plus side, the hotel has an interesting art gallery functioning in the in house mall, with very nice local pieces on display. The rooms are quite small and one day our minibar was sealed shut, for no apparent reason. Upon arrival, our AC was busted as well as the TV, this was guickly fixed though so they get a plus for service recovery. :)

Helpful?
Thank AndyLA76
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hiren P, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear AndyLA76,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very disappointed to read of the low standard of service you received from our staff.
I assure you this is not our expected standard of service and these points you have raised have been addressed to our team.

We appreciate your candid feedback as this enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Kind regards,

Hiren Prabhakar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lusaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lusaka

Property: InterContinental Lusaka
Address: Haile Selassie Avenue | Po Box 32201, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Lusaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Lusaka is the preferred destination for businesspeople as well as those who want a leisurely escape. Embassies and government buildings are just across the street and the main shopping and commercial districts are within a 10-minute drive. Of interest are the Lusaka Museum, Kabwata Cultural Village and Mundawanga Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Lusaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Inter Continental Hotel Lusaka
Lusaka Inter-Continental
Inter-Continental Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing