We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presently the best in Lusaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Lusaka
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lusaka
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Presently the best in Lusaka”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

we spent 10 days at this hotel Sept 2011 during the ellections, security was high as we had lots of overseas politicians staying at the hotel, The staff are mostly top class, the reception staff may require a bit of training in public relations as i did find them a bit up them selves at times, Yes the rooms are not as good as other intercontinental hotels but this is Zambia, The general staff were very freindly and helpfull and were always willing to have a chat,
make the effert and try to talk to the staff they are very interested in the world, remember this is a very remote country that requires overseas interest, the Hotel restaurant was a safe bet for a good meal, the breakfasts are great, the pool is very cold even in high summer,

Room Tip: not much difference from the club rooms (7th Floor) to normal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    186
    75
    19
    13
See reviews for
22
20
21
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We found this hotel to be sub-standard for an Intercontinental chain hotel. Then again, we were told that this was the 'nicest 5 star' hotel in Lusaka-- so maybe its the best you can get.

The woman who initially helped us at check-in was rude-- not answering our questions and demanding that we go print out our Expedia receipt before we could check in. The room we were given was not clean (tables not wiped down, stained carpets, soap spots on the bathroom door, a fungus infested bathmat). The bed was not even properly made-- none of the sheets tucked in (though they appeared to have been washed). Beyond that, the air conditioning didn't seem to be properly cooling the room and the fixtures were, frankly, not that nice. After check-in, housekeeping came in the room twice unsolicited, once without knocking, because they had not actually finished preparing the bathroom. My initial impression was that the rooms could use an upgrade and the housekeeping staff needed some training. Then again, it is possible we got the worst room in the hotel.

After housekeeping came in without knocking while we were trying to sleep, I finally called the front desk to complain. To her credit, the manager on duty was more than accommodating-- switching us to a much nicer "Club Intercontinental" room on the top floor. This room was what we would have expected in the first "Deluxe" room we rented-- clean (except for one dirty tabletop) and with very nice fixtures and a made bed. We were very satisfied with the new room.

What else? There is an excellent breakfast buffet and a nice pool. The bar looked cool and had some live Jazz playing on Friday night. Concierge and other staff (other than our initial check-in lady) were really great and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veja214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewZambia, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the opportunity to write to us via Trip Advisor and we do appreciate the constructive comments that you have made. It does appear that one of our colleagues checked you in to a room that was not 100% ready and I am very pleased that you bought this to our attention at the time and an alternative room was provided. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the balance of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental in the future.
Kind regards

Andrew Hosking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I realize this is Africa, but the InterContinental Lusaka is not up to IHG's brand standards. I stayed on a club level room that was basic at best. This hotel is more like a Holiday Inn than an InterContinental.

Missing amenities - my room didn't have a safe (just screw holes in the closet where they used to be). I called housekeeping and asked for an adapter for a US plug and was told that the hotel was all out. I asked if I could purchase one in the gift shop and was told "sorry you'll have to wait until one is returned"

Faulty wiring - I was traveling in a party that had booked two adjacent club level rooms. When the couple in the adjacent room received their wake up call it rang in BOTH their room and my bathroom!

Slow Service - I had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food (pasta and a sandwich) literally took an hour despite the restaurant being empty. The staff were polite and apologetic
but this still wasn't great

Broken Computers - the computer in the club lounge was extremely dated and was not in working order

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewZambia, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Baliben
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the constructive comments that you have made as this allows us an opportunity to improve our service.
The computer in the Club Lounge has been replaced and the programming of the telephones has been remedied. Our new Executive Chef has launched a new buffet concept and a new a la carte menu has been introduced from the 26th September.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and hope you enjoy the upgraded standards.
Kind regards

Andrew Hosking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A wonderful ambience and all the staff are a pleasure to be with. Permenant smiles and all so seemingly natural.
The facilities and comfort throughout the hotel are fantastic and an excellent place to stay for a business visit to Lusaka.
For sports lovers there is a top class gym, swimming pool and tennis courts and the business centre is fully equipped for all services.
A great option when visiting and doing business in Lusaka!

Room Tip: The is a wide selection of rooms available to suit all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKgoldy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewZambia, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write of your great stay at the InterContinental Lusaka, we enjoyed reading your highlights and your positive memories of our service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lusaka and our hotel.
Kind regards
Andrew Hosking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, the city, and particularly with the nice healthy trees planted along every single road in the city. There were nice forest just a few miles outside the city. Good job Zambia.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewZambia, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for updating Trip Advisor with your last stay and as a regular hotel guest, we really appreciate your positive feedback.
Kind regards
Andrew Hosking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Given the relatively negative reviews of the hotel wasn't expecting much, was was overall very pleased with my stay. I had originally booked in to the Protea on Cairo Road, but was told by my contact in Lusaka to cancel and stay here due to security issues.

Check in was swift (so swift that I didn't have time to finish my complementary cocktail which was presented on arrival!). The room was well-lit and had all of the amenities you usually get in an intercon.

Went to the bar for a couple of drinks, which were reasonably priced and were accommpanied by what seemed like an unlimited supply of crisps and nuts. Unlike other reviewers, I actually found the bar staff to be very good.

Best thing about the hotel - the simply amazing buffet breakfast! Piles and piles of hot and cold dishes, and some of the freshest mango and pineapple I've had in a while.

Will certainly be back the next time I'm in Lusaka

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisBustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewZambia, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive feedback as this is what we live for and makes us proud to work at the InterContinental Lusaka.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Lusaka the next time you are in the city.
Kind regards
Andrew Hosking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in July 2011 for a business conference. I was staying on the Club level on 7th Floor. I had my IPAD 2 stolen in my room on Thursday 14 July 2011 between 14H00 and 23H00. There was no forced entry into the room, so I suspect it was taken by someone with access to the room. The hotel never made any effort to assist in investigating my case. With the amount of security provided on that floor, you would have expected better, but it's a false sense of security.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mambushu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewZambia, General Manager at InterContinental Lusaka, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Sir
As you are now aware, from our conversation on Monday 25th July, the iPad was found by the guest that occupied your room after your visit and was handed in to the staff of the hotel on Monday 25th July. The iPad was located in the safe, standing vertically against the metal wall of the safe as the iPad is magnetized.

We are very pleased that the iPad was found safely and will be returned to you when I travel to your city.

Kind regards

Andrew Hosking
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 32 in Lusaka
642 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 32 in Lusaka
386 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka
Protea Hotel Lusaka
#9 of 32 in Lusaka
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lusaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lusaka

Property: InterContinental Lusaka
Address: Haile Selassie Avenue | Po Box 32201, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Lusaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Lusaka is the preferred destination for businesspeople as well as those who want a leisurely escape. Embassies and government buildings are just across the street and the main shopping and commercial districts are within a 10-minute drive. Of interest are the Lusaka Museum, Kabwata Cultural Village and Mundawanga Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lusaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Inter Continental Hotel Lusaka
Lusaka Inter-Continental
Inter-Continental Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing