We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, comfortable stay in Lusaka.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Ridgeway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, comfortable stay in Lusaka.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

I have stayed at the Southern Sun many times and each time I always leave happy. The staff are attentive and very helpful. The breakfast is great with lots of selections and a quite atmosphere. The staff might be a bit too attentive in the morning (it can get bothersome to have someone ask you if you want coffee or tea every five minutes) but rather that then to be ignored the entire time. The rooms are quite large and very clean. The A/C in my room was a bit loud but given the cool weather, I didn't need to use it every night. The restaurant could use a revamp of is menu since the current selections are limited and somewhat bland. But overall, a very nice place to stay in Lusaka.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianyembering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    186
    49
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
30
17
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Only stayed one night at this hotel but found it to be comfortable with good staff. Food was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turksmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Guest and Room service was splendid.

I loved the feeding of crocodiles.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dmbaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed in February 2010 while on trip to Lusaka.

Positives:
Relaxing area by pond for pre- and post-dinner drinks and conversation.
Pond has small/baby crocodiles and basket weaver birds
Safe area of Lusaka which is close to city centre, airport, Manda Hill shopping centre and Arcades shopping centre. All are a short taxi driver away. Also close to University Teaching Hospital. We went jogging near the hotel and felt absolutely safe.
Breakfast selection good
Clean well-kept swimming pool
Well equipped gym next to pool
Hotel just the right size. Not too large to make it impersonal.

Negatives:
A-la-carte menu a little limited though by Lusaka standards the meals in the hotel were up to scratch.
Internet connection not the fastest though I suspect that this is more of a function of the country's infrastructure than anything that the hotel has control over. The wireless connection when it works (75% of the time) is reasonably fast and will allow skype.
Laundry service excellent and cheap
On one night our waiter/server overcharged us on our dinner and drinks bills. However the problem was remedied quite quickly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

I checked into SS (the locals still call it Holiday Inn) from Protea @ Mall (see my review). It was a nice change. Room rates were good, comparable to Protea which was good in that it had a (small) arcade attached to it. For the same price, I got very friendly staff, nice breakfast (you shd try Dan's fish and he makes one of the best Spanish omelettes), nice swimming pool, small gym, green surroundings (which made the place cool in the hot weather. The place had a nice feel to it, and was quietly busy (perhaps due to the nearby UN, etc offices). Well run place, staff always smiling, helped by having such lovely names like 'Mercy'. Kudos to Adrian, whoever he is, for good mgmt (recommended a payrise for him in the feedback form which the slip under yr door the night before you check out. Hope he gets it and gets to organise daily get-together cocktail parties). Getting taxis is not a problem. Walking to the various markets or city centre is also easy - 30 mins-ish. Go on, put on yr shorts and play tourist. I will be back in Lusaka in two mths, and will stay here again. One suggestion to them - download the free map from Lusaka tourism and print 1000 copies for guests (not sure why all the hotels in E.Africa that I stayed do not have the freebie maps. But I got a free one of Nairobi by popping into Hilton and asking for one which they obliged)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkyong98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Southern Sun is a hotel that has everything you need, great location, excellent food, clean, beautiful swimmingpool, gim and a staff that looks after you and makes you feel like home. I stayed in this hotel for 3 months and I have no complaints at all. The General Manager is the most helpful person I've ever met. He will give you advice and help you in anything you need. The hotel is the hot spot for most of Lusaka's businesspeople to meet. If I were you I wouldn't think it twice, I would go to Southern Sun if you are staying in Lusaka. Maria

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marymero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

Great hotel and great food and very well run by Adrian Penny and his team! Everything in their control is handled with a can do attitude...what a pleasure. Lookout for Adrian's Innovative networking cocktail party where you get to meet other business travellers.

Thanks Adrian , it proves that Leadership and engaged staff are the key differentiator's

Hank van der Merwe
The Ken Blanchard Companies

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
3.7 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Property: Southern Sun Ridgeway
Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing